Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Even Cowgirls Get the Blues Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Writer/director [[Performer~P115102~Gus Van Sant~gusvansant]]'s early bid for big-time commercial success -- a success he didn't manage to achieve until [[Feature~V160083~Good Will Hunting~goodwillhunting]] -- is based on [[Performer~P60560~Tom Robbins~tomrobbins]]' 1976 feminist bestseller. [[Performer~P70905~Uma Thurman~umathurman]] plays Sissy Hankshaw, a woman born with very large thumbs. After her parents ([[Performer~P78327~Grace Zabriskie~gracezabriskie]] and [[Performer~P37949~Ken Kesey~kenkesey]]) take her to a doctor ([[Performer~P94069~Buck Henry~buckhenry]]), who offers her parents no remedy for their daughter's condition, the film races ahead to the 1970s. Sissy is now a popular feminine hygiene spray model for a product called Yoni Yum, the product of a company owned by The Countess ([[Performer~P34099~John Hurt~johnhurt]] in drag). Sissy travels to the Rubber Rose beauty ranch, also owned by The Countess, to shoot a Yoni Yum commercial. At the ranch, she makes the acquaintance of the inscrutable Chink ([[Performer~P50707~Pat Morita~noriyukipatmorita]]) and Bonanza Jellybean ([[Performer~P56630~Rain Phoenix~rainphoenix]]). But under the nose of The Countess, the cowgirls on the ranch are talking mutiny, with the women trying to liberate the Rubber Rose Ranch from the chains of patriarchal oppression. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:September 13, 1993

Cast

Uma Thurman
as Sissy Hankshaw
John Hurt
as The Countess
Rain Phoenix
as Bonanza Jellybean
Noriyuki "Pat" Morita
as The Chink
Lorraine Bracco
as Delores Del Ruby
Keanu Reeves
as Julian
Angie Dickinson
as Miss Adrian
Sean Young
as Marie Barth
Crispin Glover
as Howard Barth
Faye Dunaway
Buck Henry
as Dr. Dreyfus
Carol Kane
as Carla
Ken Kesey
as Sissy's Daddy
Lin Shaye
as Rubber Rose Maid
Oliver Kirk
as Sheriff
Richard Pagano
Sharon Bialy
Udo Kier
as Commercial Director
Wade Evans
as Cameraman
Lily Tomlin
River Phoenix
as Pilgrim (uncredited)
Steve Buscemi
Scott Patrick Green
as Pilgrim
Ed Begley, Jr.
as Rupert
William S. Burroughs
as Himself
Roseanne
as Zoe
Heather Graham
as Cowgirl Heather
Michael Parker
as Pilgrim Driver
Debi Manwiller
Eric Hull
as White House Undersecretary
Grace Zabriskie
as Mrs Hankshaw

Crew

Gus Van Sant
Director
Gus Van Sant
Producer
Laurie Parker
Producer
Gus Van Sant
Screenwriter
John J. Campbell
Cinematographer
Eric Alan Edwards
Cinematographer
k.d. lang
Composer (Music Score)
Ben Mink
Composer (Music Score)
Curtiss Clayton
Editor
Daniel Self
Production Designer
Missy Stewart
Production Designer
Beatrix Aruna Pasztor
Costume Designer
Advertisement