Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Escape from Alcatraz Details


No one can escape from Alcatraz, right? Try telling that to lifer Frank Morris ([[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]]). This [[Performer~P111406~Donald Siegel~donsiegel]]-directed nailbiter is a reenactment of Frank Morris' 1962 attempt to bust himself and two other cons out of The Rock. [[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]], as Morris, tilts with nasty warden [[Performer~P102122~Patrick McGoohan~patrickmcgoohan]] for a while, befriends several fellow prisoners, and picks the guys with whom he'll make his escape. Among his break-out buddies are the Anglin Brothers ([[Performer~P74620~Fred Ward~fredward]] and [[Performer~P113981~Jack Thibeau~jackthibeau]]), with whom he'd served in other lockups, and several others who've got their own special reasons to despise the sadistic [[Performer~P102122~McGoohan~patrickmcgoohan]]. Filmed on location at the newly renovated Alcatraz, Escape From Alcatraz was another box-office winner for the [[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]]/[[Performer~P111406~Siegel~donsiegel]] combo. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Venice International Film Festival Don Siegel Film Presented 1979 Nominee


Clint Eastwood
as Frank Morris
Patrick McGoohan
as Warden
Roberts Blossom
as Doc
Jack Thibeau
as Clarence Anglin
Fred Ward
as John Anglin
Paul Benjamin
as English
Larry Hankin
as Charley Butts
Frank Ronzio
as Litmus
John Garabedian
as Guard
Hank Brandt
as Associate Warden
Terry Wills
as Guard
Don Michaelian
as Beck
Lloyd Nelson
as Guard
Denis Berkfeldt
as Guard
Sheldon Feldner
as Inmate
Dana Derfus
as Guard
Jason Ronard
as Bobs
George Orrison
as Guard
Don Siegel
as Doctor
Don Cummins
as Guard
Joseph Knowland
as Guard
Garry Goodrow
as Weston
Gordon Handforth
as Guard
Dale Alvarez
as Inmate
Joe Whipp
as Guard
Ed Vasgersian
as Cranston
Tony Dario
as Guard
Jim Haynie
as Guard
Glenn Wright
as Prisoner
Danny Glover
as Inmate
Dan Leegant
as Guard
Ron Vernan
as Stone
David Cryer
as Wagner
Patrick Valentino
as Inmate
Blair Burrows
as Fight Guard
Carl Lumbly
as Inmate
Al Dunlap
as Visitors' Guard
Fred Stuthman
as Johnson
Fritz Manes
as Guard
Matthew Locricchio
as Exam Guard
Gilbert Thomas
as Prisoner
Don Watters
as Guard
Madison Arnold
as Zimmerman


Don Siegel
Don Siegel
Richard Tuggle
Bruce Surtees
Jerry Fielding
Composer (Music Score)
Gilbert Thomas
Ferris Webster
Allen Smith
Production Designer
Fritz Manes
Associate Producer
Ed McDonald
Set Designer
Bert Hallberg
Sound/Sound Designer
Chuck Gaspar
Special Effects
Luigi Alfano
First Assistant Director
Rick Neff
Camera Operator
Bob Bergdahl
Camera Operator
Marion Dougherty
Wallis Nicita
Richard Graves
Second Assistant Director
Lloyd Nelson
Script Supervisor
Glenn Wright
Costumes Supervisor
Bub Asman
Sound Effects Editor
Carol Rydall
Dialogue Coach
Charles Saldana
Key Grip
Ron Grover
Still Photographer
Timothy Board
First Assistant Editor
Jack Terry
Unit Production Manager
Joel Cox
First Assistant Editor
John Reitz
Re-Recording Mixer
June Edgerton
Music Editor
Chuck Holmes
Dale Haugo
Scenic Artist
Dennis Matsuda
First Assistant Camera
Gary Kalkin
Unit Publicist
Gene Lauritzen
Construction Coordinator
Gordon Paschal
First Assistant Camera