Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Escape Artist Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Escape Artist represents the laudable directorial debut of cinematographer [[Performer~P87553~Caleb Deschanel~calebdeschanel]]. [[Performer~P53558~Griffin O'Neal~griffinoneal]], the real-life son of [[Performer~P53567~Ryan O'Neal~ryanoneal]], plays Danny Masters, the offspring of a famed magician. Determined to match his dad's accomplishment, Danny runs into nothing but trouble. His biggest mistake is picking the pocket of the son of a corrupt town mayor. When not running from adults, the boy is being exploited by them. A critic's favorite, Escape Artist has slowly built up a cult following over the years, thanks largely to its eclectic supporting cast, including [[Performer~P36490~Raul Julia~rauljulia]], [[Performer~P1310~Desi Arnaz Jr.~desiarnazjr]], [[Performer~P29476~Joan Hackett~joanhackett]], [[Performer~P26007~Teri Garr~terigarr]], [[Performer~P14674~Jackie Coogan~jackiecoogan]], [[Performer~P29775~Huntz Hall~huntzhall]] and [[Performer~P74461~M. Emmet Walsh~memmetwalsh]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Griffin O'Neal
as Danny Masters
Raul Julia
as Stu Quinones
Teri Garr
as Arlene
Joan Hackett
as Aunt Sibyl
Gabriel Dell
as Uncle Burke
Desi Arnaz
as Mayor Leon Quinones
John Ryan
as Vernon
Elizabeth Daily
as Sandra
M. Emmet Walsh
as Fritz
Jackie Coogan
as Magic Shop Owner
Harry Caesar
as Sax player
Carlin Glynn
as Treasurer's secretary
Harry Cohn
as Jailmate
Doug McGrath
as Photographer
Margaret Ladd
as Reporter
Isabelle Cooley
as Secretary at Newspaper Office
Huntz Hall
as Turnkey
Sandy Gimpel
as Stunt Double - Sibyl
George Cantero
as Jail trustee
Tom Signorelli
as Mailbox cop
George Brengel
as Water commissioner
Garry Marshall
as Drummer
David Clennon
as Newspaper editor
Hal Williams
as Cop at Mayor's office

Crew

Caleb Deschanel
Director
Buck Houghton
Producer
Doug Claybourne
Producer
Melissa Mathison
Screenwriter
David Wagoner
Book Author
Stephen Zito
Screenwriter
Stephen H. Burum
Cinematographer
Georges Delerue
Composer (Music Score)
Arthur Schmidt
Editor
Dean Tavoularis
Production Designer
Angelo P. Graham
Art Director
James Murakami
Art Director
Francis Ford Coppola
Executive Producer
Fred Roos
Executive Producer
George R. Nelson
Set Designer
Gloria Gresham
Costume Designer
James Webb
Sound/Sound Designer
Chris McLaughlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Haley
First Assistant Director
Georges Delerue
Conductor
Advertisement