Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Erik the Viking Details


An unusually principled young Viking becomes increasing uncomfortable with all the killing and plundering that goes with the job, and sets out on a magical journey in order to bring about world peace. Former Monty Python member Terry Jones attempts to have his story of Erik's seemingly hopeless quest operate as both witty, lunatic satire and sincere children's fantasy. However, despite a good cast and some interesting design elements, the film fails to completely succeed at either of its goals. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

  • Release date:September 22, 1989


Tim Robbins
as Erik
Gary Cady
as Keitel Blacksmith
Mickey Rooney
as Erik's Grandfather
Eartha Kitt
as Freya
Terry Jones
as King Arnulf
Imogen Stubbs
as Princess Aud
John Cleese
as Halfdan the Black
Antony Sher
as Loki
John Gordon Sinclair
as Ivar the Boneless
Samantha Bond
as Helga
Tim McInnerny
as Sven the Berserk
Richard Ridings
as Thorfinn Skullsplitter
Freddie Jones
as Harald the Missionary
Charles McKeown
as Sven's Dad
Danny Schiller
as Snorri the Miserable
Tsutomu Sekine
as Slavemaster
Paddy Joyce
as Prisoner
Jim Broadbent
as Ernest the Viking, a Rapist
Bob Hoskins
Colin Harper
as Prisoner
Barry McCarthy
as Prisoner
Graham McTavish
as Thangbrand/ Citizen/Dog Soldier
Julia McCarthy
as Thorfinn's Mum
Dave Duffy
as Horribly Slain Warrior
Bernard Latham
as Ulf the Unmemorable
Neil Innes
as Hy Brasilian
Jim Carter
as Jennifer the Viking, another Rapist
Cyril Shaps
as Gisli the Chiseller
Sian Thomas
as Thorhild the Sarcastic
John Scott Martin
as Ingemund the Old
Tim Killick
as Bjarni/Halfdan's Guard/Musician
Gary Roost
as Prisoner
Frank Bednash
as Even More Horribly Slain Warrior
Allan Surtees
as Thorfinn's Dad
Peter Geeves
as Eilif the Mongol Horde/Musician
Matyelok Gibbs
as Erik's Mum
Sandra Voe
as Ivar's Mum
Andrew Maclachlan
as Ornulf/Chamberlain/Dog Soldier
Sarah Crowden
as Grimhild Housewife
Angela Connolly
as Thorkatla the Indiscreet
Tilly Vosburgh
as Unn-the-Thrown-At
Jay Simpson
as Leif the Lucky
Susan Sarandon
Harry Jones
as Prisoner
Bernard Padden
as Mordfiddle the Cook


Terry Jones
John Goldstone
Terry Jones
Ian Wilson
Neil Innes
Musical Direction/Supervision
Neil Innes
Composer (Music Score)
George Akers
John Beard
Production Designer
Gavin Bocquet
Art Director
Neville C. Thompson
Associate Producer
Terry Glinwood
Executive Producer
Joanne Woollard
Set Designer
Pam Tait
Costume Designer
Irene Lamb
Jenny Shircore