Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Entertainer Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P105057~Laurence Olivier~laurenceolivier]] recreates his stage role of Archie Rice in this in-your-face film adaptation of [[Performer~P54337~John Osborne~johnosborne]]'s play. The son of a legendary music hall comedian ([[Performer~P42755~Roger Livesey~rogerlivesey]]), Archie is strictly a third-rater, headlining a tacky music hall revue in a seedy seaside resort town. Archie can't admit that he's a failure, and his grim insouciance destroys everyone around him. Archie finagles his dying father into financing one last revue; he cheats shamelessly on his alcoholic wife ([[Performer~P17633~Brenda De Banzie~brendadebanzie]]); and he all but forces one of his sons (Albert Finney) to run off to join the army, only to die in the Suez. Through all his personal crises, Archie jigs and jabbers before his ever-diminishing audience, but by the end of the film he isn't even entertaining himself. [[Performer~P57101~Joan Plowright~joanplowright]], who married [[Performer~P105057~Olivier~laurenceolivier]] shortly after completing The Entertainer, plays the film's one sympathetic character: Archie's daughter, whose love for her father blinds her to his flaws. The Entertainer was remade for television in 1976, with [[Performer~P99306~Jack Lemmon~jacklemmon]] as Archie Rice and original songs by [[Performer~P93262~Marvin Hamlisch~marvinhamlisch]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Laurence Olivier Best Actor 1960 Nominee

Cast

Laurence Olivier
as Archie Rice
Brenda de Banzie
as Phoebe Rice
Joan Plowright
as Jean Rice
Roger Livesey
as Billy Rice
Alan Bates
as Frank Rice
Albert Finney
as Mick Rice
Daniel Massey
as Graham
Miriam Karlin
as Soubrette
Shirley Ann Field
as Tina Lapford
Thora Hird
as Ada Lapford
Charles Gray
as Columnist
Geoffrey Toone
as Harold Hubbard
Anthony Oliver
as Interviewer
George Doonan
as Eddie Trimmer
Max Bacon
as Charlie Klein
James Culliford
as Cobber Carson

Crew

Tony Richardson
Director
Harry Saltzman
Producer
John Osborne
Play Author
John Osborne
Screenwriter
Nigel Kneale
Screenwriter
Oswald Morris
Cinematographer
John Addison
Composer (Music Score)
Barbara Gillett
Costume Designer
Peter Handford
Sound/Sound Designer
Tony Sforzini
Makeup
Advertisement