Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Emperor's Club Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A dedicated teacher learns some important lessons about himself years after he retired from the classroom in this drama. William Hundert ([[Performer~P38699~Kevin Kline~kevinkline]]) is an instructor at St. Benedict's School for Boys, an exclusive private academy on the East Coast where Hundert drills his charges on the moral lessons to be learned through the study of Greek and Roman philosophers. Hundert is fond of telling his students, "A man's character is his fate," and he strives to impress upon them the importance of the ordered and examined life. In 1976, however, Hundert finds himself with an especially challenging group of students -- party-minded Fred Masoudi ([[Performer~P311020~Jesse Eisenberg~jesseeisenberg]]) , introverted Martin Blythe (Paul Dano), bright but mischievous Deepak Mehta (Rishi Mehta), and most notably, openly rebellious Sedgewick Bell ([[Performer~P239003~Emile Hirsch~emilehirsch]]). The son of a powerful politician, Bell pointedly runs against the current of Hundert's example, questioning the importance of the material, flouting the school's rules, talking out of turn in class, and devoting as much time to his interest in girls as in his studies. However, Hundert sees the possibility of great things in Bell, and encourages him to take part in the school's annual academic competition for the title of Mr. Julius Caesar. Hundert even goes so far as to bend the rules in scoring to favor Bell in the early stages of the contest, but his faith is betrayed when Bell is discovered cheating during the contest finals. Years later, Hundert is reunited with his students, where they learn the years have taught them all a great deal about their virtues and weaknesses. The Emperor's Club also features [[Performer~P78288~Harris Yulin~harrisyulin]], [[Performer~P50879~Rob Morrow~robmorrow]], and [[Performer~P31943~Edward Herrmann~edwardherrmann]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 22, 2002

Cast

Kevin Kline
as Professor William Hundert
Emile Hirsch
as Sedgewick Bell
Jesse Eisenberg
as Fred Masoudi
Paul Dano
as Martin Blythe
Rishi Mehta
as Deepak Mehta
Harris Yulin
as Senator Hyram Bell
Rob Morrow
as Charles Ellerby
Edward Herrmann
as Headmaster Woodbridge
Embeth Davidtz
as Elizabeth
Patrick Dempsey
as Fred Masoudi (adult)
Steven Culp
as Martin Blythe (adult)
Joel Gretsch
as Sedgewick Bell (adult)
Rahul Khanna
as Deepak Mehta (adult)
Ben Levin
Roger Rees

Crew

Michael Hoffman
Director
Marc Abraham
Producer
Andrew S. Karsch
Producer
Neil Tolkin
Screenwriter
Lajos Koltai
Cinematographer
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Harvey Rosenstock
Editor
Patrizia Von Brandenstein
Production Designer
Dennis Bradford
Art Director
Michael O'Neill
Co-producer
Lisa Bruce
Co-producer
Sidney Kimmel
Executive Producer
Armyan Bernstein
Executive Producer
Sean Bailey
Executive Producer
Eric Newman
Executive Producer
Cooper Layne
Executive Producer
Thomas A. Bliss
Executive Producer
Cynthia Flynt
Costume Designer
Chat Gunther
Sound/Sound Designer
William Sarokin
Sound/Sound Designer
Todd Pfeiffer
First Assistant Director
Georgianne Walken
Casting
Sheila Jaffe
Casting
Ethan Canin
Short Story Author
Leslie Fuller
Makeup
Advertisement