Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Elysium Details


In a future in which the privileged reside on an Earth-orbiting space station named Elysium and the less fortunate live on the surface of the blighted, overpopulated planet below, one man dares to defy the strict anti-immigration laws that separate the two disparate worlds in order to save all of mankind in this visceral sci-fi action thriller from [[Feature~V423766~District 9~district9]] director [[Performer~P484717~Neill Blomkamp~neillblomkamp]]. The year is 2154, and the division between social classes has grown wider than ever before. As the rich enjoy a life of luxury and access to cutting-edge medical technology on Elysium, the rest of the human race contend with poverty, crime, and disease on the surface of planet Earth. Meanwhile, hard-line immigration laws ensure that only those who have been explicitly approved will ever set foot on the elusive paradise in the stars. 36-year-old Max ([[Performer~P16762~Matt Damon~mattdamon]]) lives in an L.A. shantytown and earns his living by working on an Armadyne assembly line. He's had a rough past, but he's struggling to stay on the right side of the law when he realizes that his only hope for survival after being exposed to deadly radiation is to reach Elysium. Should Max succeed, he will strike a major blow for equality in the eyes of his fellow surface dwellers; should he fail, it will mean certain death. In his quest to become the hero who can restore the balance between the rich and the poor, however, Max must first do battle with Elysium's hawkish Secretary of Defense Delacourt ([[Performer~P90220~Jodie Foster~jodiefoster]]), who has devoted her entire career to maintaining that division, and whose key enforcer Kruger ([[Performer~P484722~Sharlto Copley~sharltocopley]]) is notorious for his brutal tactics in driving out illegals. With the fates of millions hanging in the balance, Max sets his sights on Elysium and never looks back. [[Performer~P436811~Alice Braga~alicebraga]], [[Performer~P196831~Diego Luna~diegoluna]], [[Performer~P23302~William Fichtner~williamfichtner]], and [[Performer~P275528~Faran Tahir~farantahir]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:August 9, 2013


Matt Damon
as Max Da Costa
Jodie Foster
as Secretary Delacourt
Sharlto Copley
as Kruger
Alice Braga
as Frey
Diego Luna
as Julio
Wagner Moura
as Spider
William Fichtner
as John Carlyle
Brandon Auret
as Drake
Jose Pablo Cantillo
as Sandro
Maxwell Perry Cotton
as Young Max
Faran Tahir
as President Patel
Adrian Holmes
as Manuel
Jared Keeso
as Rico
Carly Pope
as CCB Agent
Ona Grauer
as CCB Agent
Michael Shanks
as CCB Agent
Christina Cox
as CCB Agent
Terry Chen
as Technician
Catherine Lough Haggquist
as Representative Burrard
Mike Mitchell
as Foreman
Chris Shields
as Dr. Faziel
Johnny Cicco
as Vincente
Inaqui Goci
as Bus Station Gangster
Christian Vazquez
as Gangster
Alejandro Rae
as Gangster
Patricia Benoit
as Street Child
Tracy Waterhouse
as Nurse
Kendall Cross
as Armadyne Investor
Julian Christopher
as Armadyne Investor
Fraser Aitcheson
as Spider's Ship Rider
Taras Kostyuk
as Spider's Ship Smuggler
Heath Stevenson
as Android
Lloyd Adams
as Android


Neill Blomkamp
Neill Blomkamp
Simon Kinberg
Bill Block
Neill Blomkamp
Trent Opaloch
Simon Raby
Liz Gallacher
Musical Direction/Supervision
Julian Clarke
Philip Ivey
Production Designer
Ross Dempster
Art Director
Hannia Robledo
Art Director
Don MacAulay
Supervising Art Director
Stacy Perskie
Sue Baden-Powell
Executive Producer
Mira Caveno
Set Designer
Nancy Brown
Set Designer
David Clarke
Set Designer
April Ferry
Costume Designer
Peter Lando
Set Decorator
Dave Whitehead
Sound/Sound Designer
David Klohn
First Assistant Director
Javier Clave
First Assistant Director
James Bitonti
First Assistant Director
Image Engine
Dean Heselden
Camera Operator
Mary Anne Waterhouse
Production Manager
Alejandro Reza
Francine Maisler
Candice Elzinga
Christopher Scarabosio
Re-Recording Mixer
Gary Lam
First Assistant Editor
Gitte Axen
Key Make-up
Simon Raby
Second Unit Director
Kandace Loewen
Key Hairstylist
Votch Levi
Visual Effects Supervisor
Connie Parker
Department Head Makeup
The Embassy Visual Effects
Visual Effects
Erik Nordby
Visual Effects Supervisor
Cameron Waldbauer
Special Effects Coordinator
Tracey Poirier
Key Second Assistant Director
Rafael Cuervo
Unit Production Manager
Daniel Mansfield
Second Assistant Director
Mike Mitchell
Stunts Coordinator
Jacqueline Lopez
Visual Effects Executive Producer
Adam Estey
Visual Effects Editor
Sanna Seppanen
Department Head Hair
Gerardo Moreno
Stunts Coordinator
Syd Mead
Conceptual Design
Miguel Necoechea
Second Assistant Director
Tara Colledge
Hair Styles
Eddy Santos
Second Assistant Director
Craig Berkey
Supervising Sound Editor
Craig Berkey
Re-Recording Mixer
Image Engine
Visual Effects
Simon Carrigan
Assistant Production Coordinator
Elizabeth Chodar
Casting Assistant
Sue Baden-Powell
Unit Production Manager
David Husby
Production Sound Mixer
David Legault
Visual Effects Editor
Jonathan Harb
Visual Effects Supervisor
Kim Goddard-Rains
Assistant Production Coordinator
Shauna Bryan
Visual Effects Executive Producer
Catherine Ircha
Assistant Art Director
Mark Breakspear
Visual Effects Supervisor
Kathleen Driscoll-Mohler
Casting Associate
Laura Livingstone
Production Coordinator
Grady Cofer
Visual Effects Supervisor
Shawn Walsh
Visual Effects Producer
Michelle Lemieux
Key Make-up