Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Ella Enchanted Details


Adapted from author Gail Carson Levine's award-winning children's book of the same name, the Miramax-financed modern fantasy Ella Enchanted is directed by Tommy O'Haver and stars Tommy O'Haver alumna Anne Hathaway. Ella (Hathaway) lives in a magical world in which each child, at the moment of their birth, is given a virtuous "gift" from a fairy godmother. Ella's so-called gift, however, is obedience. This birthright proves itself to be quite the curse once Ella finds herself in the hands of several unscrupulous characters whom she quite literally cannot disobey. Determined to gain control of her life and decisions, Ella sets off on a journey she hopes will end with the lifting of the curse in question. The path, however, isn't easy -- Ella must outwit a slew of unpleasant magical creatures ranging from ogres to talking books with evil plots. Though perilous, Ella's adventures turn out to be necessary obstacles in the path toward finding herself, and maybe even true love along the way. Ella Enchanted also features Cary Elwes, who has starred in a fantasy feature himself (the widely acclaimed Cary Elwes), Hugh Dancy, and Patrick Bergin, among others. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

  • Release date:April 9, 2004


Anne Hathaway
as Ella of Frell
Hugh Dancy
as Prince Charmont
Cary Elwes
as Prince Regent Edgar
Patrick Bergin
as Sir Peter
Vivica A. Fox
as Lucinda Perriweather
Steve Coogan
as Heston
Jennifer Higham
as Olive
Eric Idle
as Narrator
Minnie Driver
as Mandy
Joanna Lumley
as Dame Olga
Aidan McArdle
as Slannen the Elf
Jimi Mistry
as Benny
Parminder Nagra
as Areida
Lucy Punch
as Hattie


Tommy O'Haver
Jane Startz
Michele J. Wolff
Karen McCullah Lutz
Laurie Craig
Kirsten Smith
Jennifer Heath
John DeBorman
Shaun Davey
Composer (Music Score)
Nick Glennie-Smith
Composer (Music Score)
Masahiro Hirakubo
Norman Garwood
Production Designer
Anna Rackard
Art Director
Susan Miller Lazar
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Julie Goldstein
Executive Producer
Su Armstrong
Executive Producer
Ruth Myers
Costume Designer
Kieran Horgan
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruno Tonioli
Susie Figgis
Laurence O'Toole
Graphic Design
Randy Spendlove
Executive Music Producer
Angus Bickerton
Special Effects Supervisor