Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

El Muerto Hace las Maletas Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This strange comic-thriller was one the final entries in the West German "krimi" series based on the mystery novels of [[Performer~P165859~Edgar Wallace~edgarwallace]] and his son. [[Performer~P76444~Fred Williams~fredwilliams]] plays Scotland Yard detective Robert Redford, who is hunting a mysterious knife-throwing murderer through London. His search leads him to the Flamingo nightclub and a drug-dealing doctor named Blackmoor (Siegfried Schuerenberg) whose secretary's supposedly dead husband Charles ([[Performer~P69851~Horst Tappert~horsttappert]]) is posing as a dead mystery writer while "ridding the streets" of undesirables. [[Performer~P210253~Luis Morris~ericmorris]] provides comic relief as a photographer who mistakenly hands people nude photographs instead of evidence, and there are some slapstick moments involving London's Finest. The film is undeniably amusing, but [[Performer~P102575~Manuel Merino~manuelmerino]]'s photography is too dark in many places and it isn't as gripping as [[Performer~P176997~Werner Klingler~wernerklingler]]'s 1963 version of the same story, [[Feature~V152330~Das Geheimnis der Schwarzen Koffer~dasgeheimnisderschwarzenkoffer]]. There are some odd scenes typical of director [[Performer~P234856~Jesus Franco~jesusfranco]], however, such as the cartoon-like "boing-g-g-g" noise whenever the killer's knife finds its target, and the director appears as a knife expert, saying things like "To you he's just another murderer. To me he's an idol." ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

Advertisement