Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

El Corazon del guerrero Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Recalling the darkly surreal world of [[Performer~P91577~Terry Gilliam~terrygilliam]], director [[Performer~P192244~Daniel Monzon~danielmonzon]] debuts with this delirious film about a teenager shifting between grim reality and the much more alluring world of fantasy. The film opens with the muscle-bound Beldar ([[Performer~P215571~Joel Joan~joeljoan]]) and the vivacious Sonja ([[Performer~P232114~Neus Asensi~neusasensi]]) decapitating monsters and interpreting ancient languages in a dank labyrinth as they hunt for a legendary gem called the Heart of the Warrior. Without it, Beldar is cursed. Just before the dynamic duo meets their demise, Ramon ([[Performer~P216030~Fernando Ramallo~fernandoramallo]]), a pimply teenager, awakes from a dream. We learn that Beldar and Sonja are characters in a Dungeons and Dragons-style role playing game that Ramon plays along with Victor (Juan Diaz) and the perpetually horny Javi (Jaime Barnatan). As the film progresses, Ramon's intense fantasy world begins to bleed into reality. A one-eyed midget ([[Performer~P266552~Javier Aller~javieraller]]) who Javi spies on the subway becomes the guardian of the evil Netheril ([[Performer~P200766~Santiago Segura~santiagosegura]]), who in real life is a sleazy TV psychic. The fictional character Sonja, who Ramon is in love with, finds her real world incarnation as streetwalker Sonia (also Asensi). Soon Ramon begins to confuse fiction with reality when he bursts into the building of a prominent politician and hurls a sword at him, prompting a nationwide manhunt. ~ Jonathan Crow, Rovi

Cast

Fernando Ramallo
as Ramon
Neus Asensi
as Sonia/Sonja
Joel Joan
as Beldar
Santiago Segura
as Netheril
Javier Aller
as Felipe
Adria Collado
as Adolfo del Prado

Crew

Daniel Monzon
Director
Gerardo Herrero
Producer
Eduardo Campoy
Producer
Daniel Monzon
Screenwriter
Carles Gusi
Cinematographer
Ivan Aledo
Editor
Jose Luis Arrizabalaga
Art Director
Biaffra
Art Director
Polo Aledo
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement