Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Eight Men Out Details


Writer/director John Sayles' dramatization of the most infamous episode in professional sports -- the fix of the 1919 World Series -- is considered by many to be among his best films and arguably the best baseball movie ever made. This adaptation of Eliot Asinof's definitive study of the scandal shows how athletes of another era were a different breed from the well-paid stars of later years. The Chicago White Sox owner, Charlie Comiskey (Clifton James), is portrayed as a skinflint with little inclination to reward his team for their spectacular season. When a gambling syndicate led by Arnold Rothstein (Michael Lerner) gets wind of the players' discontent, it offers a select group of stars -- including pitcher Eddie Cicotte (Sayles regular David Strathairn), infielder Buck Weaver (John Cusack), and outfielder "Shoeless" Joe Jackson (D.B. Sweeney) -- more money to play badly than they would have earned to try to win the Series against the Cincinnati Reds. Sayles cast the story with actors who look and perform like real jocks, and added a colorful supporting cast that includes Studs Terkel as reporter Hugh Fullerton and Sayles himself as Ring Lardner. ~ Tom Wiener, Rovi

  • Release date:September 2, 1988


John Cusack
as Buck Weaver
Clifton James
as Charles Comiskey
David Strathairn
as Eddie Cicotte
Christopher Lloyd
as Bill Burns
John Mahoney
as Kid Gleason
D.B. Sweeney
as "Shoeless" Joe Jackson
Michael Lerner
as Arnold Rothstein
Charlie Sheen
as Hap Felsch
Gordon Clapp
as Ray Schalk
Don Harvey
as Swede Risberg
Michael Rooker
as Chick Gandil
Perry Lang
as Fred McMullin
James Read
as Lefty Williams
Jace Alexander
as Dickie Kerr
Richard Edson
as Billy Maharg
Bill Irwin
as Eddie Collins
Michael Mantell
as Abe Attell
Kevin Tighe
as Sport Sullivan
Studs Terkel
as Hugh Fullerton
John Anderson
as Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis
John Sayles
as Ring Lardner
Wendy Makkena
as Kate Jackson
Maggie Renzi
as Rose Cicotte
Lee Anne Harris
as Singer
Eaton Randles
as Clerk
Ken Berry
as Heckler
Tay Strathairn
as Bucky
Jesse Vincent
as Scooter
Tim Laughter
as Betting Man
Randle Mell
as Ahearn
Barbara Garrick
as Helen Weaver
Richard Lynch
as Writer
Robert Motz
as D.A.
Max Chiddester
as Nash
David Hinman
as Announcer
Clyde Bassett
as Ban Jonson
B.J. Davis
as Enemy Fan
Robert Walsh
Michael Preston
as New Jersey Fans
Brad Garrett
as PeeWee
Eliot Asinof
as Heydler
John E. Blazier
as Newspaper Reporter
Dick Cusack
as Judge Friend
Steve Salge
as Reporter
Dana Roi
as Woman in Bar
Bill Jennings
as Chicago Umpire
Julie Whitney
as Woman in Bar
Rich Komenich
as Jury Foreman
Jack George
Brad Griffith
as Reporter
Michael Laskin
as Austrian
Jim Desmond
as Smitty
Jim Stark
as Reporter
Bill Raymond
as Ben Short
Jim Martindale
as Cincinnati Umpire
Patrick Grant
as Irish tenor
David Carpenter
Nancy Travis
as Lyria Williams
Garry Williams
Merrill Holtzman
as Grabiner
Stephen Mendillo
as Monk
Danton Stone
as Hired Killer
Brad Armacost
as Attendant


John Sayles
Midge Sanford
Jerry Offsay
Sarah Pillsbury
Eliot Asinof
Book Author
John Sayles
Robert Richardson
Mason K. Daring
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Creamer
Featured Music
Jann Kenbrovin
Turner Layton
John Tintori
Dan Bishop
Production Designer
Dan Bishop
Art Director
Peggy Rajski
Jerry Offsay
Executive Producer
Barbara Boyle
Executive Producer
Cynthia Flynt
Costume Designer
Susan Lyall
Costume Designer
David Brownlow
Sound/Sound Designer
Avy Kaufman
Carrie Frazier
Shani Ginsberg
Barbara Hewson Shapiro
Gigi Coker
Marc Reshovsky
Second Unit Director Of Photography