Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Eight Men Out Details


Writer/director [[Performer~P110025~John Sayles~johnsayles]]' dramatization of the most infamous episode in professional sports -- the fix of the 1919 World Series -- is considered by many to be among his best films and arguably the best baseball movie ever made. This adaptation of [[Performer~P2588~Eliot Asinof~eliotasinof]]'s definitive study of the scandal shows how athletes of another era were a different breed from the well-paid stars of later years. The [[Performer~P12799~Chicago White Sox~thechicagowhitesox]] owner, Charlie Comiskey ([[Performer~P35055~Clifton James~cliftonjames]]), is portrayed as a skinflint with little inclination to reward his team for their spectacular season. When a gambling syndicate led by Arnold Rothstein ([[Performer~P41931~Michael Lerner~michaellerner]]) gets wind of the players' discontent, it offers a select group of stars -- including pitcher Eddie Cicotte ([[Performer~P110025~Sayles~johnsayles]] regular [[Performer~P68638~David Strathairn~davidstrathairn]]), infielder Buck Weaver ([[Performer~P16329~John Cusack~johncusack]]), and outfielder "Shoeless" Joe Jackson ([[Performer~P69324~D.B. Sweeney~dbsweeney]]) -- more money to play badly than they would have earned to try to win the Series against the [[Performer~P13222~Cincinnati Reds~thecincinnatireds]]. [[Performer~P110025~Sayles~johnsayles]] cast the story with actors who look and perform like real jocks, and added a colorful supporting cast that includes [[Performer~P70296~Studs Terkel~studsterkel]] as reporter Hugh Fullerton and [[Performer~P110025~Sayles~johnsayles]] himself as Ring Lardner. ~ Tom Wiener, Rovi

  • Release date:September 2, 1988


John Cusack
as Buck Weaver
Clifton James
as Charles Comiskey
David Strathairn
as Eddie Cicotte
Christopher Lloyd
as Bill Burns
John Mahoney
as Kid Gleason
D.B. Sweeney
as "Shoeless" Joe Jackson
Michael Lerner
as Arnold Rothstein
Charlie Sheen
as Hap Felsch
Gordon Clapp
as Ray Schalk
Don Harvey
as Swede Risberg
Michael Rooker
as Chick Gandil
Perry Lang
as Fred McMullin
James Read
as Lefty Williams
Jace Alexander
as Dickie Kerr
Richard Edson
as Billy Maharg
Bill Irwin
as Eddie Collins
Michael Mantell
as Abe Attell
Kevin Tighe
as Sport Sullivan
Studs Terkel
as Hugh Fullerton
John Anderson
as Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis
John Sayles
as Ring Lardner
Wendy Makkena
as Kate Jackson
Maggie Renzi
as Rose Cicotte
Randle Mell
as Ahearn
Lee Anne Harris
as Singer
Danton Stone
as Hired Killer
Jesse Vincent
as Scooter
Max Chiddester
as Nash
Rich Komenich
as Jury Foreman
Richard Lynch
as Writer
Brad Garrett
as PeeWee
David Hinman
as Announcer
Julie Whitney
as Woman in Bar
Patrick Grant
as Irish tenor
Tay Strathairn
as Bucky
Michael Preston
as New Jersey Fans
Clyde Bassett
as Ban Jonson
Tim Laughter
as Betting Man
Jack George
Ken Berry
as Heckler
B.J. Davis
as Enemy Fan
John E. Blazier
as Newspaper Reporter
Dana Roi
as Woman in Bar
Steve Salge
as Reporter
Robert Walsh
Jim Stark
as Reporter
Stephen Mendillo
as Monk
Nancy Travis
as Lyria Williams
Dick Cusack
as Judge Friend
Eliot Asinof
as Heydler
Brad Griffith
as Reporter
Eaton Randles
as Clerk
Jim Desmond
as Smitty
Merrill Holtzman
as Grabiner
Barbara Garrick
as Helen Weaver
Bill Jennings
as Chicago Umpire
David Carpenter
Brad Armacost
as Attendant
Garry Williams
Jim Martindale
as Cincinnati Umpire
Michael Laskin
as Austrian
Robert Motz
as D.A.
Bill Raymond
as Ben Short


John Sayles
Sarah Pillsbury
Jerry Offsay
Midge Sanford
Eliot Asinof
Book Author
John Sayles
Robert Richardson
Turner Layton
Mason K. Daring
Composer (Music Score)
Jann Kenbrovin
Henry Creamer
Featured Music
John Tintori
Dan Bishop
Production Designer
Dan Bishop
Art Director
Peggy Rajski
Barbara Boyle
Executive Producer
Jerry Offsay
Executive Producer
Cynthia Flynt
Costume Designer
Susan Lyall
Costume Designer
David Brownlow
Sound/Sound Designer
Avy Kaufman
Shani Ginsberg
Barbara Hewson Shapiro
Carrie Frazier
Marc Reshovsky
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Gigi Coker