Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Earth Girls Are Easy Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this madcap comedy, [[Performer~P17342~Geena Davis~geenadavis]] plays Valerie, a manicurist living in the valley with her cold fiancé, Dr. Ted Gallagher ([[Performer~P60929~Charles Rocket~charlesrocket]]). At the Curl Up and Dye beauty salon where she works, Valerie enlists the help of her boss, Candy Pink ([[Performer~P83239~Julie Brown~juliebrown]]), for some style advice to try and win back Ted's affections. After undergoing a brand-new hairstyle, Valerie learns that Ted is having an affair and she kicks him out of the house. Soon, while lounging around in her bikini, a spaceship from the planet Jhazzalan crash-lands in her swimming pool. Curious, Valerie befriends the ship's inhabitants -- three horny aliens covered in fur named Mac ([[Performer~P27435~Jeff Goldblum~jeffgoldblum]]), Whiploc ([[Performer~P11257~Jim Carrey~jimcarrey]]), and Zeebo ([[Performer~P75075~Damon Wayans~damonwayans]]). Introducing her new friends to Candy, the aliens get a shave and a total makeover transformation into hot, available dates. They all go out dancing at L.A. nightclubs and party. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:May 12, 1989

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Oliver Stapleton Best Cinematography 1989 Nominee

Cast

Geena Davis
as Valerie Dale
Jeff Goldblum
as Mac
Julie Brown
as Candy Pink
Jim Carrey
as Wiploc
Damon Wayans
as Zeebo
Charles Rocket
as Dr. Ted Gallagher
Michael McKean
as Woody, Pool Boy
Lucy Lee Flippin
as Receptionist
Steve Lundquist
as Body Factory Attendant
Susan Krebs
as Bryan's Mother
Larry Linville
as Dr. Bob
Angelyne
as Gas Girl
Wayne "Crescendo" Ward
as Demone
Tita Omeze
as Tanya
Victor Garron
as Deca Dance Valet
Terrence E. McNally
as Soap Opera Doctor
Diane Stilwell
as Robin
Felix Montano
as Ramon
Larri Thomas
as Curl Up and Dye Dancer
Stacey Travis
as Tammy
Gail Neely
as Head Nurse
Lisa Fuller
as Kikki
June C. Ellis
as Mrs. Merkin
Rick Overton
as Dr. Rick
Leslie Morris
as Mike the Cop
Nedra Volz
as Lana

Crew

Julien Temple
Director
Tony Garnett
Producer
Duncan Henderson
Producer
Terrence E. McNally
Screenwriter
Charlie Coffey
Screenwriter
Julie Brown
Screenwriter
Oliver Stapleton
Cinematographer
Nile Rodgers
Composer (Music Score)
Ray Colcord
Songwriter
Richard Halsey
Editor
Dennis Gassner
Production Designer
Dins Danielsen
Art Director
Terrence E. McNally
Associate Producer
Nancy Haigh
Set Designer
Linda M. Bass
Costume Designer
Anna Behlmer
Sound/Sound Designer
Sarah Elgart
Choreography
Wallis Nicita
Casting
Robert "Bobby Z" Zajonc
Pilot
Richard Arrington
Makeup
Advertisement