Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Drumline Details


Drumline brings the world of "show-style" marching bands (popular at traditionally black, Southern colleges) to the big screen for the first time. The story, by Shawn Schepps, was inspired by the high school drumline experiences of executive producer/executive music producer Dallas Austin. Devon (Nick Cannon of Nickelodeon's The Nick Cannon Show) is a Harlem drummer who earns a full scholarship to the fictional Atlanta A&T University. There, his talent gets the attention of the school's embattled musical director, Dr. Lee (Orlando Jones), who puts his students' education and appreciation for musical tradition ahead of the marching band's popularity. Devon's brashly egotistical attitude doesn't endear him to Lee, whose slogan for the band is "One band, one sound," or to the drumline's disciplined captain, Sean (Leonard Roberts, late of TV's Leonard Roberts). Devon has more success with the dance captain of the marching band, Laila (Zoe Saldana, who played a ballet dancer in Zoe Saldana), a Southern belle who's won over by Devon's confidence. Sean feels threatened by Devon's talent, and his attitude, so when he learns that Devon can't read music, he uses the information to his advantage. With the band facing their archrival at a huge marching band competition, Dr. Lee has to decide whether to allow the brilliant drummer to perform, despite his attitude. Devon has to prove that he can show his skills while still being part of the team. Drumline was directed by Charles Stone III (Charles Stone III), and features cameo appearances by musical artists Blu Cantrell and Petey Pablo. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:December 13, 2002


Nick Cannon
as Devon Miles
Zoe Saldana
as Laila
Orlando Jones
as Dr. Lee
as Jayson
Jason Weaver
as Ernest
Earl C. Poitier
as Charles
Shay Roundtree
as Big Rob
J. Anthony Brown
as Mr. Wade
Afemo Omilami
as President Wagner


Charles Stone III
Timothy M. Bourne
Jody Gerson
Tina Gordon Chism
Shawn Schepps
Screen Story
Shawn Schepps
Shane Hurlbut
John Powell
Composer (Music Score)
Patricia Bowers
Bill Pankow
Charles C. Bennett
Production Designer
Nicholas Scott
Art Director
Greg Mooradian
Executive Producer
Dallas Austin
Executive Producer
Amy McGary
Set Designer
Salvador Perez
Costume Designer
Jim Hawkins
Sound/Sound Designer
Doug Torres
First Assistant Director
Aleta Helena Chappelle
Dallas Austin
Executive Music Producer