Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Drowning Mona Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Rage, jealousy, murder, and Eastern European automotive engineering combine in this offbeat black comedy. Verplanck, NY, is a small town north of Manhattan that has the dubious distinction of being the Yugo capital of America; the ill-fated import compact was first test-marketed in Verplanck, and nearly everyone in town drives one. So no one finds it unusual when a yellow Yugo is seen floating in the river, though seeing someone trapped inside is out of the ordinary. Verplanck's chief of police, Wyatt Rash ([[Performer~P17602~Danny De Vito~dannydevito]]), discovers that the deceased driver was a prominent local citizen, Mona Dearly ([[Performer~P102748~Bette Midler~bettemidler]]), and the evidence suggests that Mona's death was no accident. But the investigation into Mona's murder is hampered by one rather significant detail: nearly everyone in town hated Mona and wanted her dead. She alienated her son Jeff ([[Performer~P276953~Marcus Thomas~marcusthomas]]) and his business partner Bobby ([[Performer~P121005~Casey Affleck~caseyaffleck]]). Bobby's girlfriend Ellen ([[Performer~P215106~Neve Campbell~nevecampbell]]) (who is also Rash's daughter) is convinced that Mona would have tried to drive a wedge into their relationship. Mona's husband Phil ([[Performer~P23302~William Fichtner~williamfichtner]]) couldn't stand her and fell into an affair with Rona ([[Performer~P16288~Jamie Lee Curtis~jamieleecurtis]]), the waitress at the local diner. And even Rash's sidekick, Deputy Feege ([[Performer~P19422~Peter Dobson~peterdobson]]), spent too much time on the wrong end of Mona's temper to care that she's dead. Before long, the question is no longer who is a suspect, but who isn't? Drowning Mona was directed by [[Performer~P92001~Nick Gomez~nickgomez]], who earned positive notices for his independent films [[Feature~V133987~New Jersey Drive~newjerseydrive]] and [[Feature~V136773~Illtown~illtown]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 3, 2000

Cast

Danny DeVito
as Chief Wyatt Rash
Bette Midler
as Mona Dearly
Neve Campbell
as Ellen Rash
Jamie Lee Curtis
as Rona Mace
Casey Affleck
as Bobby Calzone
William Fichtner
as Phil Dearly
Marcus Thomas
as Jeff Dearly
Peter Dobson
as Deputy Feege
Kathleen Wilhoite
as Lucinda
Tracey Walter
as Clarence
Paul Ben-Victor
as Tony Carlucci
Paul Schulze
as Jimmy D
Mark Pellegrino
as Murph
Raymond O'Connor
as Father Tom
Will Ferrell
as Cubby
Fred Scialla
Nick Gomez

Crew

Nick Gomez
Director
Eugene Musso
Producer
Bart Rosenblatt
Producer
Peter Steinfeld
Screenwriter
Bruce Douglas Johnson
Cinematographer
Michael Tavera
Composer (Music Score)
Gwen Bethel
Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Toyon
Production Designer
Stacey Sher
Executive Producer
Michael Shamberg
Executive Producer
Danny DeVito
Executive Producer
Jonathan Weisgal
Executive Producer
Betty Krul
Set Designer
Karen Agresti
Set Designer
Terry Dresbach
Costume Designer
Jeff Kushner
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Weingarten
Sound/Sound Designer
Monika Mikkelsen
Casting
Jeff Kushner
Sound Editor
Maura Naughton
Second Unit Director
Bengt Jonsson
Second Unit Director
Bengt Jonsson
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Advertisement