Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

In Dreams Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Claire Cooper ([[Performer~P5346~Annette Bening~annettebening]]), has been having psychic visions all of her life, though she's never been clear of what they mean. Now an adult, she lives an idyllic, small-town life in a Massachusetts farmhouse with her airline-pilot husband Paul ([[Performer~P58261~Aidan Quinn~aidanquinn]]) and her young daughter Rebecca ([[Performer~P200730~Katie Sagona~katiesagona]]), while Claire illustrates children's books. A psychopath ([[Performer~P19966~Robert Downey Jr.~robertdowneyjr]]) has been kidnapping young girls in their area, and one is currently missing. Claire has a recurring dream about the killer walking with a girl through an apple orchard. Paul tells police detective Jack Kay ([[Performer~P206569~Paul Guilfoyle~paulguilfoyle]]), who doesn't believe him, as the girl's body had been found at the bottom of the lake. Claire's vision was actually a premonition, starting a chain of events that would create a two-way link to the killer. The key to the mystery is the lake itself, of which Claire dreams, created when the old town of Northfield was flooded to make a reservoir. As her psychiatrist Dr. Silverman ([[Performer~P59079~Stephen Rea~stephenrea]]) does not understand her now waking dreams, Claire alone must now lose herself to the visions. She must relive the killer's memories to find his identity and location. Director [[Performer~P96396~Neil Jordan~neiljordan]] has explored the nature of dreams in a more Freudian manner in his [[Feature~V10603~Company of Wolves~thecompanyofwolves]]. ~ Ron Wells, Rovi

  • Release date:January 15, 1999

Cast

Annette Bening
as Claire Cooper
Aidan Quinn
as Paul Cooper
Robert Downey, Jr.
as Vivian Thompson
Paul Guilfoyle
as Detective Jack Kay
Dennis Boutsikaris
as Dr. Stevens
Stephen Rea
as Dr. Silverman
Purdence Wright Holmes
as Mary
Katie Sagona
as Rebecca Cooper
Krystal Benn
as Ruby
Pamela Payton-Wright
as Ethel
Margo Martindale
as Nurse Floyd
Wally Dunn
Lonnie Farmer
as Nurse Rosco

Crew

Neil Jordan
Director
Stephen Woolley
Producer
Neil Jordan
Screenwriter
Bari Wood
Book Author
Bruce Robinson
Screenwriter
Darius Khondji
Cinematographer
Elliot Goldenthal
Composer (Music Score)
Tony Lawson
Editor
Martin Laing
Art Director
Redmond Morris
Co-producer
Gretchen Rau
Set Designer
Jeffrey Kurland
Costume Designer
James J. Sabat
Sound/Sound Designer
Patrick Clayton
First Assistant Director
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Yves de Bono
Special Effects Supervisor
Advertisement