Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Dragnet Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P80282~Dan Aykroyd~danaykroyd]] must have practiced for months to perfect his [[Performer~P116153~Jack Webb~jackwebb]] inflections for Dragnet. Screenwriter [[Performer~P101041~Tom Mankiewicz~tommankiewicz]]'s directorial debut (also written by Mankiewicz, along with Aykroyd, and [[Performer~P118077~Alan Zweibel~alanzweibel]]) is a gentle spoof of the legendary '50s television police drama -- pitting '50s conservatism smack up against the attitudes of the '80s. Basically, the film is another [[Feature~V92163~48 Hours~wentthedaywell]] or [[Feature~V5220~Beverly Hills Cop~beverlyhillscop]] clone. Aykroyd stars as Joe Friday, the nephew of the original Friday. But with his brown suit, fedora, and lockjaw, he could just as well be the incarnation of [[Performer~P116153~Jack Webb~jackwebb]]. He is involuntarily assigned a smart alecky, street-wise partner, Pep Streebeck ([[Performer~P93341~Tom Hanks~tomhanks]]), and they are appointed to investigate a series of religious cult murders in L.A. The two cops follow the trail to a phony televangelist, the Reverend Jonathan Whirley ([[Performer~P57110~Christopher Plummer~christopherplummer]]). From there, they are only at step away from uncovering an Orange County-based religious cult calling itself P.A.G.A.N. (People Against Goodness and Normalcy). After sneaking into a secret ceremony, Friday falls in love with the sacrificial victim Connie Swail ([[Performer~P55478~Alexandra Paul~alexandrapaul]]). So much so that even after his superior Captain Gannon ([[Performer~P229604~Harry Morgan~harrymorgan]], reprising his role from the '60s revival of the Dragnet program) orders him off the case, Friday continues on, with the requisite car chases and crashes that usually climax any '80s cop movie or comedy. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:June 26, 1987

Cast

Dan Aykroyd
as Sgt. Joe Friday
Tom Hanks
as Pep Streebek
Christopher Plummer
as Rev. Jonathan Whirley
Harry Morgan
as Capt. Bill Gannon
Alexandra Paul
as Connie Swail
Jack O'Halloran
as Emil Muzz
Elizabeth Ashley
as Police Commissioner Jane Kirkpatrick
Dabney Coleman
as Jerry Caesar
Bill Wittman
as Narrator
Maurice Marsac
as Maitre d'
Ray Sharkey
as Drug Pagan
Jimmie F. Skaggs
as Caterer Pagan
Lisa London
as 1982 Redhead
Jim Boeke
as Nectar Pagan
Josh Cruze
as Police Officer
Julia Jennings
as Sylvia Wiss
Lenka Peterson
as Granny Mundy
Lisa Aliff
as April
Margaret Lenzey
as Baitmate
Meg Wyllie
as Mrs. Gannon
Peter Aykroyd
as Phoney Cop #2
Ava Fabian
as Baitmate
Ruben Garfias
as Tough #2
Sandra Eng
as TV Reporter
Stuart Quan
as Tough #3
Bert Hinchman
as Night Watchman
Kathleen Freeman
as Enid Borden
Sydney Urshan
as Officer Conklin
Bruce Gray
as Mayor Parvin
Kimberly Foster
as Betsy Blees
Gary Lee Davis
as Leggings Pagan
D.D. Howard
as Officer Robin Gilbert
Casey Sander
as Phoney Cop #1
Chester Grimes
as Pagan
Christopher Mankiewicz
as White Coat
Dona Speir
as Baitmate
Donald Craig
as Announcer
Fred Asparagus
as Tito Provencal
Gray Daniels
as Crewman #1

Crew

Tom Mankiewicz
Director
Bernie Brillstein
Producer
Robert Weiss
Producer
David Permut
Producer
Alan Zweibel
Screenwriter
Tom Mankiewicz
Screenwriter
Dan Aykroyd
Screenwriter
Matthew Leonetti
Cinematographer
Ira Newborn
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Halsey
Editor
Frank Richwood
Art Director
Don Zepfel
Associate Producer
Bernie Brillstein
Executive Producer
Willie D. Burton
Sound/Sound Designer
David Sosna
First Assistant Director
Kevin Marcy
Production Assistant
Advertisement