Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Dr. Cyclops Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The first Technicolor horror film since [[Feature~V34236~Mystery of the Wax Museum~themysteryofthewaxmuseum]], Dr. Cyclops was directed by [[Performer~P110305~Ernest Schoedsack~ernestbschoedsack]], of [[Feature~V27392~King Kong~kingkong]] fame. [[Performer~P18299~Albert Dekker~albertdekker]] chews the scenery as mad scientist Dr. Thorkel, who has developed a process that will shrink human beings to doll size. His first victims include mining engineers Bill Stockton ([[Performer~P14130~Thomas Coley~thomascoley]]) and Steve Baker ([[Performer~P38122~Victor Kilian~victorkilian]]) and biologists Mary Mitchell ([[Performer~P42967~Janice Logan~janicelogan]]) and Dr. Bullfinch ([[Performer~P29898~Charles Halton~charleshalton]]). At first willing to play-act the role of benevolent despot with his miniaturized captives, Thorkel reveals the more sinister side of his personality by abruptly murdering Bullfinch in cold blood (easily the film's most frightening sequence). The rest of the picture details the escape efforts of the three pint-sized protagonists as they hack their way through a jungle of gigantic foliage and do battle with oversized wildlife. Though the cheery Technicolor hues tend to dilute the "scare" quotient in Dr. Cyclops, the special effects are superbly convincing throughout. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:April 12, 1940

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Farciot Edouart Best Special Effects 1940 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gordon Jennings Best Special Effects 1940 Nominee

Cast

Albert Dekker
as Dr. Thorkel
Charles Halton
as Dr. Bulfinch
Victor Kilian
as Steve Baker
Frank Yaconelli
as Pedro
Allen Fox
as Cab Driver
Frank Reicher
as Prof. Kendall
Paul Fix
as Dr. Mendoza
Bill Wilkerson
as Silent Indian

Crew

Ernest B. Schoedsack
Director
Merian C. Cooper
Producer
Henry Sharp
Cinematographer
Winton Hoch
Cinematographer
Gerard Carbonara
Composer (Music Score)
Ernst Toch
Composer (Music Score)
Ellsworth Hoagland
Editor
Earl Hedrick
Art Director
Hans Dreier
Art Director
Farciot Edouart
Special Effects
Advertisement