Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Down to Earth Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Comic [[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]] co-scripted and stars in this remake of 1941's [[Feature~V22212~Here Comes Mr. Jordan~herecomesmrjordan]], which was also remade with [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]] in 1978 as Heaven Can Wait. Comedian Lance Barton (Rock) is struggling to get his career off the ground when he dies in an untimely bus accident; arriving at the Pearly Gates, he discovers that he's not supposed to have passed on for another 50 years. Barton is not happy with this turn of events, and eventually the Powers That Be send his spirit back to Earth, but for the time being he has to make do with the body of a middle-aged, closed-minded millionaire, Charles Wellington. Lance falls in love with a young community activist ([[Performer~P38343~Regina King~reginaking]]), but he soon finds he has bigger problems at home: the millionaire's wife and her lover are both trying to kill him. The supporting cast includes [[Performer~P230173~Mark Addy~markaddy]] as an actor passing himself off as an English manservant, [[Performer~P54860~Chazz Palminteri~chazzpalminteri]] as Mr. King, Heaven's no-nonsense manager, and [[Performer~P99559~Eugene Levy~eugenelevy]] as Mr. Keyes, the angel who accidentally ends Barton's life. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:February 16, 2001

Cast

Chris Rock
as Lance Barton
Regina King
as Sontee
Chazz Palminteri
as King
Eugene Levy
as Keyes
Frankie R. Faison
as Whitney Daniels
Mark Addy
as Cisco
Greg Germann
as Sklar
Jennifer Coolidge
as Mrs. Wellington
Wanda Sykes
as Wanda
John Cho
as Phil Quon
James Gandolfini
Jernard Burks
as Man in Wheelchair

Crew

Paul Weitz
Director
Chris Weitz
Director
Michael Rotenberg
Producer
Sean Daniel
Producer
James Jacks
Producer
Harry Segall
Play Author
Chris Rock
Screenwriter
Louis C.K.
Screenwriter
Lance Crouther
Screenwriter
Richard Crudo
Cinematographer
Jamshied Sharifi
Composer (Music Score)
Priscilla Nedd-Friendly
Editor
Paul Peters
Production Designer
Dennis Davenport
Art Director
John Kasarda
Art Director
Chris Rock
Executive Producer
Barry Berg
Executive Producer
Beth Kushnick
Set Designer
Gordon Sim
Set Designer
Elis Lam
Set Designer
Gordon Sim
Set Decorator
Beth Kushnick
Set Decorator
Debrae Little
Costume Designer
Bill Meadows
Sound/Sound Designer
Douglas Ganton
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Little
First Assistant Director
Tom Houghton
Camera Operator
Tom Houghton
Additional Cinematography
Roy Anderson
Stunts Coordinator
Ken Kushnick
Executive Music Producer
Bill Stephney
Executive Music Producer
Matt Walden
Executive Music Producer
Advertisement