Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Dogs of War Details


Christopher Walken stars in John Irvin's graphic adaptation of Frederick Forsythe's novel about a mercenary sent to overthrow the government of an African country. Walken is Shannon, an American soldier of fortune who has staged incidents in Central America and Africa that helped topple governments. Shannon decides to take on one more mission when American businessman Endean (Hugh Millais), working for a large mining company wanting to move into an African country, hires Shannon to scout out the terrain of the country and see if the government is weak enough to be overthrown. Shannon assumes the guise of a photographer for a nature magazine and travels through the country, meeting a wide-array of people. But the government becomes suspicious of Shannon and throws him in jail, where, between torture sessions, he meets an imprisoned dissident leader. Through his imprisonment, Shannon comes to understand more fully the struggles of the African country. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi


Christopher Walken
as Jamie Shannon
Tom Berenger
as Drew
Colin Blakely
as North
Hugh Millais
as Endean
Paul Freeman
as Derek
JoBeth Williams
as Jessie
Jean-François Stévenin
as Michel
Robert Urquhart
as Capt. Lockhart
Winston Ntshona
as Dr. Okoye
Pedro Armendariz, Jr.
as The Major
Harlan Cary Poe
as Richard
Ed O'Neill
as Terry
Isabel Grandin
as Evelyn
Ernest Graves
as Warner
Kelvin Thomas
as Black Boy
Shane Rimmer
as Dr. Oaks
Bruce McLane
as Shop Manager
David Schofield
as Endean's Man
Terence Rigby
as Hackett
Tony Mathews
as Bank Vice President
Jack Lenoir
as Boucher
Jose Rabelo
as Hotel Clerk
Hugh Quarshie
as Zangaron Officer
Victoria Tennant
as Dinner Party Guest
Ilario Bisi-Pedro
as Kimba
Eddie Tagoe
as Jinja
John Quentin
as Party Guest
Christopher Asante
as Geoffrey
Jim Broadbent
as Film Crew
Martin Lasalle
André Penvern
as Policeman
Kenny Ireland
as Film Crew
Erica Creer
as Dinner Party Guest
Diana Bracho
as Nun
Sheila Ruskin
as Dinner Party Guest
Christopher Malcolm
as Baker
Jean-Pierre Kalfon
as Benny Lambert
Olu Jacobs
as Customs Officer
Lawrence Davidson
as Policeman
Thomas Baptiste
as Dexter


John Irvin
Norman Jewison
Larry de Waay
Patrick Palmer
Frederick Forsyth
Book Author
Gary de Vore
George Malko
Leonard Glasser
Jack Cardiff
Geoffrey Burgon
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Mullins
Production Designer
John Siddall
Art Director
Bert Davey
Art Director
Emma Porteous
Costume Designer
Steve Lombardi
Special Effects
Lawrence James Cavanaugh
Special Effects