Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Doctor and the Devils Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A movie version of the stage play The Doctor and the Devils, written in the 1950s by Welsh poet/playwright [[Performer~P165478~Dylan Thomas~dylanthomas]], had been planned and shelved by several filmmakers before producer [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]] and director [[Performer~P90319~Freddie Francis~freddiefrancis]] finally brought the project to fruition in 1985. Essentially, the story is the old one about grave robbers Burke and Hare and Scottish surgeon Dr. Robert Knox (which also yielded the 1945 [[Performer~P99671~Val Lewton~vallewton]] classic [[Feature~V6513~The Body Snatcher~thebodysnatcher]]). [[Performer~P16690~Timothy Dalton~timothydalton]] plays 18th century doctor Thomas Rock, who must rely upon the disreputable Robert Fallon ([[Performer~P57980~Jonathan Pryce~jonathanpryce]]) and Timothy Broom ([[Performer~P59079~Stephen Rea~stephenrea]]) to provide fresh cadavers for Dr. Rock's teaching hospital. When they can't dig up corpses fast enough to suit Dr. Rock, Fallon and Broom decide to streamline their methods via murder. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Timothy Dalton
as Dr. Thomas Rock
Jonathan Pryce
as Robert Fallon
Twiggy
as Jenny Bailey
Julian Sands
as Dr. Murray
Sian Phillips
as Annabella Rock
Stephen Rea
as Timothy Broom
Phyllis Logan
as Elizabeth Rock
Lewis Fiander
as Dr. Thornton
David Grahame
as Old Man
Patrick Stewart
as Prof. Macklin
Philip Jackson
as Andrew Merry-Lees
Hedger Wallace
as Doctor
Dermot Crowley
as Mr. Webb
Ray Armstrong
as Prison Guard
Danny Schiller
as Praying Howard
Sam Bartlett
as Prison Guard
Beryl Reid
as Mrs. Flynn
Terry Neason
as Kate
T.P. McKenna
as O'Connor
Roland MacLeod
as Official
Shaun Curry
as Policeman
Peter Burton
as Customer
Philip Davis
as Billy Bedlam
Leonard Maguire
as Nightwatchman
Jennifer Jayne
as Barmaid
Moira Brooker
as Molly the Maid
John Horsley
as Dr. Mackendrick
Roy Evans
as Sewerman
Simon Shepherd
as Harding
Merelina Kendall
as Mrs. Webb
Kevin Duffield
as Daniel
Maggie Cartier
Jeff Rawle
as Lambert
Toni Palmer
as Rosie
Simon Adams
as Green
Rachel Herbert
as Mrs. Stevens
Ray Dunbobbin
as Tinker
Stephen Yardley
as Joseph
David Bamber
as Cronin
Barrie Houghton
as Official
David Parfitt
as Billings
Bruce Green
as Mole
Nichola McAuliffe
as Alice

Crew

Freddie Francis
Director
Jonathan Sanger
Producer
Geoffrey Helman
Producer
Mel Brooks
Producer
Ronald Harwood
Screenwriter
Gerry Turpin
Cinematographer
Ken Weston
Musical Direction/Supervision
Robert Laing
Production Designer
Bob Laing
Production Designer
Jo Lustig
Associate Producer
Imogen Richardson
Costume Designer
Naomi Donne
Makeup
Advertisement