Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Divorce American Style Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

An unhappy couple discover breaking up really is hard to do in this satiric comedy. Richard Harmon ([[Performer~P72745~Dick Van Dyke~dickvandyke]]) and his wife, Barbara ([[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]]), are a typical married couple in American Suburbia -- which is to say they're not very happy with each other. After 15 years together, Richard and Barbara decide they've reached the end of their collective rope, and after several rounds of marriage counseling proves fruitless, they file for divorce. Between negotiating child custody, alimony, and finding new places to live, Richard and Barbara discover divorce isn't appreciably easier than being married; meanwhile, Richard makes a new friend in Nelson Downes ([[Performer~P35299~Jason Robards~jasonrobardsjr]]), a fellow divorcé who would love nothing more than for Richard to marry his former wife, Nancy ([[Performer~P65749~Jean Simmons~jeansimmons]]), and take away the burden of alimony. Also featuring [[Performer~P35956~Van Johnson~vanjohnson]], [[Performer~P92333~Lee Grant~leegrant]], [[Performer~P5739~Shelley Berman~shelleyberman]], and [[Performer~P8300~Eileen Brennan~eileenbrennan]] in her first film role, Divorce American Style earned an Oscar nomination for [[Performer~P99070~Norman Lear~normanlear]] and [[Performer~P96904~Robert Kaufman~robertkaufman]]'s original screenplay. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Kaufman Best Original Screenplay 1967 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Norman Lear Best Original Screenplay 1967 Nominee

Cast

Dick Van Dyke
as Richard Harmon
Debbie Reynolds
as Barbara Harmon
Jason Robards, Jr.
as Nelson Downes
Jean Simmons
as Nancy Downes
Van Johnson
as Al Yearling
Joe Flynn
as Lionel Blandsforth
Shelley Berman
as David Grieff
Martin Gabel
as Dr. Zenwinn
Lee Grant
as Dede Murphy
Tom Bosley
as Farley
Emmaline Henry
as Fern Blandsforth
Dick Gautier
as Larry Strickland
Gary Goetzman
as Jonathan Harmon
Eileen Brennan
as Eunice
Shelley Morrison
as Jackie
Bella Bruck
as Celia
Tim Matheson
as Mark Harmon
Patricia Collins
as Herself

Crew

Bud Yorkin
Director
Norman Lear
Producer
Norman Lear
Screenwriter
Robert Kaufman
Screenwriter
Conrad L. Hall
Cinematographer
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
Ferris Webster
Editor
Edward Stephenson
Production Designer
Frank A. Tuttle
Set Designer
Bob Mackie
Costume Designer
Advertisement