Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Screenwriter [[Performer~P97322~Callie Khouri~calliekhouri]] makes her directorial debut with this adaptation of a pair of popular novels by author [[Performer~P310829~Rebecca Wells~rebeccawells]], Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Little Altars Everywhere. [[Performer~P9472~Sandra Bullock~sandrabullock]] stars as Sidda Lee Walker, a New York playwright who opens a can of emotional worms with her estranged, boozy mother, Vivi ([[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]]), when she discusses her painful childhood and particularly Vivi's less-than-enviable mothering skills in a Time magazine article. The eccentric Louisiana drama queen Vivi has already been barred from her daughter's oft-delayed wedding to her fiancé, Connor ([[Performer~P44176~Angus Macfadyen~angusmacfadyen]]), so the article sends her into a rage. Coming to the rescue of the relationship are Necie ([[Performer~P38816~Shirley Knight~shirleyknight]]), Caro ([[Performer~P66495~Maggie Smith~maggiesmith]]), and Teensy ([[Performer~P89947~Fionnula Flanagan~fionnulaflanagan]]), a trio of bickering women, who, along with Vivi, formed a secret society of feminist empowerment and friendship 60 years earlier that they dubbed the "Ya-Ya Sisterhood." The Ya-Yas kidnap Sidda and bring her home to Louisiana, where they reveal to Sidda via a carefully maintained scrapbook her mother's painful past (with Vivi portrayed in flashback by [[Performer~P36453~Ashley Judd~ashleyjudd]]), effecting a rapprochement between mother and daughter. Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood also stars [[Performer~P25985~James Garner~jamesgarner]]. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:June 7, 2002

Cast

Sandra Bullock
as Sidda Lee Walker
Ellen Burstyn
as Vivi Abbott Walker
Ashley Judd
as Younger Vivi Abbott Walker
Fionnula Flanagan
as Teensy
Maggie Smith
as Caro
Cherry Jones
as Buggy
Shirley Knight
as Necie
James Garner
as Shep Walker
Angus MacFadyen
as Connor McGill
Allison Bertolino
as Little Sidda Lee Walker
Caitlin Wachs
as Little Vivi Abbott
Jacqueline McKenzie
as Younger Teensy
Katy Selverstone
as Younger Caro
Kiersten Warren
as Younger Necie
Leslie Silva
as Willetta
Matthew Settle
as Jack
Gina McKee
as Genevieve
David Lee Smith
as Younger Shep Walker
Ron Dortch
as Chaney
Frederick Koehler
as Pete Abbott
David Rasche
as Taylor Abbott
Robert Longstreet
as Pilot
David Bridgewater
as Dr. Beau Poche
Mark Jeffrey Miller
as Lyle
Taj Mahal
as Swing Band Singer
Nina Repeta
as Lady at Gas Station
Nicki Tschudi
as Little Necie
Gillian Johnson
as Younger Chick
Clint Lienau
as James Jr.
Boyd Kestner
Mark Joy
as Mr. Whitman
Suellen Yates
as Stage Manager
Ann Savoy
as Chanteuse
Michael Mattison
as Officer Roscoe Jenkins
Ursula Burton
as Sister Solange
Barbara Weetman
as Female Interviewer
Sarah Huck
as Lulu
Deborah Hobart
as Aunt Louise
Veda Wilson
as Shirley
Alex Cooper
as Baylor

Crew

Callie Khouri
Director
Hunt Lowry
Producer
Callie Khouri
Screenwriter
Mark Andrus
Screenwriter
Michael Tackett
Cinematographer
John Bailey
Cinematographer
Darrell Leonard
Musical Arrangement
T-Bone Burnett
Composer (Music Score)
David Mansfield
Composer (Music Score)
Andrew Marcus
Editor
David J. Bomba
Production Designer
John Jensen
Art Director
Scott Elias
Associate Producer
Tom Proper
Associate Producer
Bette Midler
Executive Producer
Lisa Stewart
Executive Producer
E.K. Gaylord II
Executive Producer
Mary McLaglen
Executive Producer
Rob Simons
Set Designer
James Edward Ferrell, Jr.
Set Designer
Cheryle Cravedi
Costume Designer
Joel Voorhies
Costume Designer
Gary Jones
Costume Designer
Joyce Marling
Costume Designer
Petur Hliddal
Sound/Sound Designer
Matthew Rowland
First Assistant Director
Allan Kaufman
Consultant/advisor
Debra Baum
Consultant/advisor
Anette Haellmigk
Camera Operator
Malcolm MacIntosh
Camera Operator
Karen Brigman
Stunts
Donna Evans Merlo
Stunts
Tree O'Toole
Stunts
Mike Piersante
Sound Mixer
Avy Kaufman
Casting
Marty Cherrix
Casting
Duane Williamson
Leadman
Rita Parillo
Hair Styles
Lilene Mansell
Dialogue Coach
Mary McLaglen
Unit Production Manager
Jeffrey Schlatter
Construction Coordinator
Jennifer Giancola
Second Assistant Director
Alyson Moore
Foley Artist
Wendy Bell
Makeup
Michael Rayle
Cable Person
Nicole Furia
Production Accountant
Lona Vigi
Hair Styles
Ann Trulove
Associate Editor
Darrell Leonard
Additional Music
Lana Sharpe
Hair Styles
Pacific Title
Title Design
Troy Porter
ADR Mixer
Felicity Bowring
Department Head Makeup
David Giammarco
Supervising Sound Editor
Charlene Roberson
Makeup
Maureen Whalen
Casting Associate
Kim Drummond
Dialogue Editor
Pamela Westmore
Makeup
Robbie Beck
Properties Master
Jessica Sheaffer
Production Secretary
Alain Romi
First Assistant Editor
Jessica Peel
Assistant Costume Designer
Geoffrey Ryan
Assistant Location Manager
Ashleigh Tucker
Assistant Production Coordinator
Eric Layne
First Assistant Accountant
Jonathan Capra
Second Second Assistant Director
Scott Leftridge
Dolly Grip
Tammy Christine Arnold
Dialogue Coach
Sean Menzies
First Assistant Editor
Mo Henry
Negative Cutter
Pat Story
Unit Publicist
Bruce Ericksen
Costumes Supervisor
Patrick Borowiak
Second Assistant Camera
Advertisement