Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Dirty Harry Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

"You've got to ask yourself a question: 'do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, punk?" Dirty Harry provoked a critical uproar in 1971 for its "fascist" message about the power of one, as it also elevated [[Performer~P88601~Clint Eastwood~clinteastwood]] to superstar status through his most enduring screen persona. Harry Callahan ([[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]], in a role meant for [[Performer~P111632~Frank Sinatra~franksinatra]]) is a sardonic, hard-working San Francisco cop who can't finish his lunch without having to foil a bank robbery with his 44 Magnum, "the most powerful handgun in the world." When hippie-esque psycho Scorpio ([[Performer~P60750~Andy Robinson~andrewrobinson]]) goes on a killing spree, Harry and new partner Chico ([[Performer~P63117~Reni Santoni~renisantoni]]) are assigned to hunt him down, but not before the Mayor ([[Performer~P73373~John Vernon~johnvernon]]) and Lt. Bressler ([[Performer~P29073~Harry Guardino~harryguardino]]) admonish Callahan about his heavy-handed tactics. Racing against a deadline to save a kidnap victim from suffocating to death and unbothered by the niceties of Miranda rights and search warrants, Callahan brings in Scorpio, only to see him released on technicalities. "The law's crazy," opines Harry in disgust, before taking it upon himself to ensure that Scorpio doesn't kill again. Directed in violent and efficient fashion by [[Performer~P111406~Don Siegel~donsiegel]], with a propulsive score by [[Performer~P110179~Lalo Schifrin~laloschifrin]], Dirty Harry was the fourth [[Performer~P111406~Siegel~donsiegel]]-[[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]] collaboration after [[Feature~V10917~Coogan's Bluff~coogansbluff]] (1968), [[Feature~V51405~Two Mules for Sister Sara~twomulesforsistersara]] (1970), and [[Feature~V4680~The Beguiled~thebeguiled]] (1970). Critics at the time strongly objected to the heroic image of a cop's violations of a suspect's Miranda rights, forcing [[Performer~P111406~Siegel~donsiegel]] and [[Performer~P88601~Eastwood~clinteastwood]] to deny that they were right-wing reactionaries. All the same, Dirty Harry proved to be highly popular and spawned four sequels: [[Feature~V30857~Magnum Force~magnumforce]] (1973), [[Feature~V15855~The Enforcer~theenforcer]] (1976), [[Feature~V47559~Sudden Impact~suddenimpact]] (1983), and [[Feature~V12715~The Dead Pool~thedeadpool]] (1988). ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1971

Cast

Clint Eastwood
as Harry Callahan
Harry Guardino
as Lt. Bressler
Reni Santoni
as Chico Sanchez
John Vernon
as Mayor
John Larch
as Chief
Jo de Winter
as Miss Willis
Lois Foraker
as Hot Mary
Albert Popwell
as Bank Robber
Christopher Pray
as Tunnel Hoodlum
David Gilliam
as Homosexual
Debra Scott
as Ann Mary Deacon (uncredited)
Diane Darnell
as Mayor's Secretary
Eddie Garrett
as Policeman
George Fargo
as Homicide Detective
Ruth Kobart
as Bus Driver
Tony Dario
as Police Sergeant
William Paterson
as Bannerman
Josef Sommer
as Rothko
Woodrow Parfrey
as Mr. Jaffe
James Nolan
as Liquor Store Proprietor
Joe Finnegan
as Men in Truck
John Mitchum
as DeGeorgio
Joy Carlin
as Communications Secretary
Angela Paton
as Homicide Detectives
Kathleen O'Malley
as Woman
Lyn Edgington
as Norma
Melody Thomas
as Ann Mary Deacon, photographer

Crew

Don Siegel
Director
Don Siegel
Producer
Dean Riesner
Screenwriter
Bruce Surtees
Cinematographer
Lalo Schifrin
Composer (Music Score)
Carl Pingitore
Editor
Dale Hennesy
Art Director
Carl Pingitore
Associate Producer
Glenn Wright
Costume Designer
Gordon Bau
Makeup
Advertisement