Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Dirty Harry Details


"You've got to ask yourself a question: 'do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, punk?" Dirty Harry provoked a critical uproar in 1971 for its "fascist" message about the power of one, as it also elevated Clint Eastwood to superstar status through his most enduring screen persona. Harry Callahan (Eastwood, in a role meant for Frank Sinatra) is a sardonic, hard-working San Francisco cop who can't finish his lunch without having to foil a bank robbery with his 44 Magnum, "the most powerful handgun in the world." When hippie-esque psycho Scorpio (Andy Robinson) goes on a killing spree, Harry and new partner Chico (Reni Santoni) are assigned to hunt him down, but not before the Mayor (John Vernon) and Lt. Bressler (Harry Guardino) admonish Callahan about his heavy-handed tactics. Racing against a deadline to save a kidnap victim from suffocating to death and unbothered by the niceties of Miranda rights and search warrants, Callahan brings in Scorpio, only to see him released on technicalities. "The law's crazy," opines Harry in disgust, before taking it upon himself to ensure that Scorpio doesn't kill again. Directed in violent and efficient fashion by Don Siegel, with a propulsive score by Lalo Schifrin, Dirty Harry was the fourth Siegel-Eastwood collaboration after Siegel (1968), Siegel (1970), and Siegel (1970). Critics at the time strongly objected to the heroic image of a cop's violations of a suspect's Miranda rights, forcing Siegel and Eastwood to deny that they were right-wing reactionaries. All the same, Dirty Harry proved to be highly popular and spawned four sequels: Siegel (1973), Siegel (1976), Siegel (1983), and Siegel (1988). ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1971


Clint Eastwood
as Harry Callahan
Harry Guardino
as Lt. Bressler
Reni Santoni
as Chico Sanchez
John Vernon
as Mayor
John Larch
as Chief
Max Gail
Josef Sommer
as Rothko
John Mitchum
as DeGeorgio
Kristoffer Tabori
Lyn Edgington
as Norma
Ann Noland
Melody Thomas
as Ann Mary Deacon, photographer
Diane Darnell
as Mayor's Secretary
Christopher Pray
as Tunnel Hoodlum
Kathleen O'Malley
as Woman
Lois Foraker
as Hot Mary
Albert Popwell
as Bank Robber
Tony Dario
as Police Sergeant
Debra Scott
as Ann Mary Deacon (uncredited)
Eddie Garrett
as Policeman
Joe Finnegan
as Men in Truck
John Garber
Joy Carlin
as Communications Secretary
Angela Paton
as Homicide Detectives
Jo de Winter
as Miss Willis
David Gilliam
as Homosexual
James Nolan
as Liquor Store Proprietor
Woodrow Parfrey
as Mr. Jaffe
George Fargo
as Homicide Detective
Ruth Kobart
as Bus Driver
William Paterson
as Bannerman
Al Dunlap


Don Siegel
Don Siegel
Dean Riesner
Bruce Surtees
Lalo Schifrin
Composer (Music Score)
Carl Pingitore
Dale Hennesy
Art Director
Carl Pingitore
Associate Producer
Glenn Wright
Costume Designer
Gordon Bau