Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Descent Details


A group of close female friends on a yearly adventure vacation find themselves trapped and hunted in a series of caves by an unknown force that lurks in the shadows in The Descent, the second horror feature from writer/director Neil Marshall. After suffering a devastating car crash one year before, Sarah (Shauna Macdonald) is lured to the States with her friend Beth (Alex Reid) to a special spelunking trip by the fearless Juno (Natalie Mendoza), who abruptly fled from the U.K. after Sarah's accident. Along with two old friends and a new acquaintance of Juno's, the group embark on a cave expedition that takes a turn for the worse after a rock fall leaves them stranded in an uncharted cave with no map and only a handful of supplies to last them the rest of the trip. As tensions arise in the group, they are faced with another danger -- one whose love of the dark is as strong as its lust for blood. Opening to rave reviews in the U.K. in July of 2005, the creature-feature went on to show at the Venice Film Festival and garnered the top prize for Euro feature at Sweden's Fantastic Film Festival. The Descent was picked up for future U.S. distribution by Lion's Gate, whose work was cut out for them considering the tame opening of the similarly-themed stateside production of Natalie Mendoza in late-August of the same year. ~ Jeremy Wheeler, Rovi

  • Release date:August 4, 2006


Awarded by
London Film Critics Association Neil Marshall Best British Director 2005 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Neil Marshall Breakthrough Filmmaker 2006 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Christian Colson Best British Producer 2005 Nominee


Neil Marshall
Christian Colson
Neil Marshall
Sam McCurdy
David Julyan
Composer (Music Score)
Jon Harris
Simon Bowles
Production Designer
Jason Knox-Johnston
Art Director
Paul Ritchie
Keith Bell
Associate Producer
Ivana MacKinnon
Associate Producer
Nancy Thompson
Costume Designer
Michael Maroussas
Sound/Sound Designer
Nick Thermes
Sound/Sound Designer
Nigel Heath
Sound/Sound Designer
Jack Ravenscroft
First Assistant Director
Michaela Elliot-Vass
Phillip West
Camera Operator
Maxine Whittaker
Kim McGarrity
Daz Parker
Michael Byrch
William Davies
Gail Stevens
Helen Ingham
Costumes Supervisor
Alexandra Montgomery
Post Production Coordinator
Yvette Dore
Unit Publicist
Hannah Godwin
Production Coordinator
Phil Humphries
Clapper Loader
Siobhan Boyes
Post Production Coordinator
Bill Ridealgh
Set Medic/First Aid
Jeanette Haley
Post Production Supervisor
Stuart Bagshaw
Foley Recordist
John Fewell
Foley Artist
Cassie Mclean
Personal Assistant
Jacqueline Fowler
Prosthetic Makeup Effects
Jim Dowdall
Stunts Coordinator
Leigh Took
Visual Effects Supervisor
Jim Cornish
Storyboard Artist
Karen Walling
Set Medic/First Aid
Neil Morille
Prosthetic Makeup Effects
Kate Laver
Costumes Assistant
Tanya Lodge
Harry Fain
Art Department Assistant
Nick Ingman
Stuart Sewell
Prosthetic Makeup Effects
Hattie Harper
Personal Assistant
Steve Griffin
Stunts Coordinator
Steve Orchard
Ross Grainger
Generator Operator
Howard Watkins
Visual Effects Supervisor
Michael Baldock
Unit Production Manager
Debbie Moore
Production Accountant
Jason Swanscott
Foley Artist
Gareth Williams
Sarah E. Baker
Production Assistant
Clyde Lane
Craft Service/Catering
Derek Yeaman
Location Manager
Rodrigo Gutierrez
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Amelia Troubridge
Still Photographer
Jennifer Harty
Makeup Supervisor
Catriona Richardson
First Assistant Editor
David Wheal
Casting Assistant
Johnny Rafique
Special Effects Supervisor
Charlie Waller
Second Assistant Director
Robert Milden