Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Deep In The Heart (of Texas) Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Texas-born documentary filmmaker [[Performer~P107238~Stephen Purvis~stephenpurvis]] made his feature directorial debut with this comedy-drama, loosely based on the stage production, [[Feature~V96485~In the West~inthewest]] -- a series of monologues written and performed by a group of Texas actors. Purvis and his co-scripters [[Performer~P240163~Jesse Sublett~jessesublett]] and [[Performer~P186772~Tom Huckabee~tomhuckabee]]) gave this material a clever unifying thread by introducing two British documentary filmmakers who interview a variety of locals in Austin. Recalling the films of [[Performer~P83168~Nick Broomfield~nickbroomfield]] ([[Feature~V154233~Heidi Fleiss, Hollywood Madam~ladyinwaiting]]), the duo has an assignment from the BBC. As filmmaker [[Performer~P89937~Robert Flaherty~robertflaherty]] ([[Performer~P15634~Kenneth Cranham~kennethcranham]] of [[Feature~V158881~The Boxer~theboxer]]) -- an obvious nod to the real-life [[Performer~P89937~Robert Flaherty~robertflaherty]] who filmed the classic [[Feature~V34452~Nanook of the North~nanookofthenorth]] (1921) -- and his younger wife Kate Markham ([[Performer~P239557~Amanda Root~amandaroot]] of [[Feature~V134808~Persuasion~persuasion]]) film the interviews, they find tensions and conflicts threatening their marriage and partnership. Original [[Feature~V96485~In the West~inthewest]] cast members appear as Austin eccentrics, including a deer hunter ([[Performer~P239531~Lou Perryman~louperryman]]), a "wild child" ([[Performer~P145717~Tim Mateer~timmateer]]), a woman ([[Performer~P47370~C.K. McFarland~ckmcfarland]]) with no regrets over losing both husband and son in a oil rig explosion, and a guard-dog salesman ([[Performer~P56023~Marco Perella~marcoperella]]). Texas music heard on the soundtrack includes [[Performer~P43473~Lyle Lovett~lylelovett]]'s "That's Right (You're Not From Texas)" plus tunes by [[Performer~P104264~Willie Nelson~willienelson]] and Marcia Ball. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Crew

Stephen Purvis
Director
Stephen Purvis
Producer
Stephen Purvis
Screenwriter
Tom Huckabee
Screenwriter
Jesse Sublett
Screenwriter
Thomas Flores Alcala
Cinematographer
Folmer Wiesinger
Editor
Jim Fritzler
Production Designer
Mike Tolleson
Executive Producer
Larry Scharf
Sound/Sound Designer
Chris Hilsabeck
Line Producer
Advertisement