Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Deep Blue Sea Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of [[Performer~P107627~Terence Rattigan~terencerattigan]]'s most celebrated plays is given a new screen adaptation in this drama written and directed by [[Performer~P86858~Terence Davies~terencedavies]]. Hester Page ([[Performer~P216376~Rachel Weisz~rachelweisz]]) is rescued in the midst of a suicide attempt by her landlady Mrs. Elton ([[Performer~P49640~Ann Mitchell~annmitchell]]) when she smells gas. As those around her ponder why a beautiful woman would choose such a fate, we learn that Hester is not really Hester at all -- she's actually Lady Collyer, the wife of well-known and respected judge Sir William Collyer ([[Performer~P198951~Simon Russell Beale~simonrussellbeale]]). However, Lady Collyer has never known love or satisfaction in her marriage, and she fell into an affair with Freddie Page ([[Performer~P559750~Tom Hiddleston~tomhiddleston]]), a former RAF pilot. Lady Collyer has become hopelessly infatuated with Freddie, leaving her husband and living with Freddie under an assumed identity. But the woman who now calls herself Hester soon discovers she loves Freddie far more than he loves her, and between his drinking and neglect for her, it seems she's given up her old life for one that has no future. This marks the second time The Deep Blue Sea has been brought to the screen; [[Performer~P41659~Vivien Leigh~vivienleigh]] starred in the 1955 version directed by [[Performer~P97559~Anatole Litvak~anatolelitvak]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 23, 2012

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
New York Film Critics Circle Rachel Weisz Best Actress 2012 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Rachel Weisz Best Actress - Drama 2012 Nominee

Cast

Rachel Weisz
as Hester Collyer
Tom Hiddleston
as Freddie Page
Karl Johnson
as Mr. Miller
Harry Hadden-Paton
as Jackie Jackson
Sarah Kants
as Liz Jackson
Oliver Ford Davies
as Hester's Father
Barbara Jefford
as Collyer's Mother
Mark Tandy
as Ede and Ravenscroft Assistant
Nicholas Amer
as Mr. Elton

Crew

Terence Davies
Director
Kate Ogborn
Producer
Terence Davies
Screenwriter
Terence Davies
Adaptation by
Terence Rattigan
Play Author
Florian Hoffmeister
Cinematographer
Samuel Barber
Composer (Music Score)
David Charap
Editor
James Merifield
Production Designer
Peter Hampden
Executive Producer
Lisa Marie Russo
Executive Producer
Katherine Butler
Executive Producer
Ruth Myers
Costume Designer
Jane Arnell
Casting Director
Eliza Mellor
Line Producer
Advertisement