Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Death Race 2000 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Cult hero [[Performer~P3926~Paul Bartel~paulbartel]] directed this low-budget satire in which America's passion for cars, violence, and sporting events are finally brought together in one convenient package. In the not-so-distant future, the United States has become a totalitarian regime overseen by the charming but sinister Mr. President ([[Performer~P416740~Sandy McCallum~sandymccallum]]), who, in order to satisfy the masses' need for entertainment (and to quench their thirst for violence), has created a new national sport -- the Death Race, a nationwide road rally in which the winner is not determined by who finishes first, but by who scores the most points along the way by running over hapless pedestrians. Aspiring champions Machine Gun Joe Viterbo ([[Performer~P112464~Sylvester Stallone~sylvesterstallone]]), Calamity Jane ([[Performer~P117342~Mary Woronov~maryworonov]]), Nero the Hero ([[Performer~P39215~Martin Kove~martinkove]]), and Matilda the Hun ([[Performer~P14267~Roberta Collins~robertacollins]]) are all looking to take the top honors away from Frankenstein ([[Performer~P84255~David Carradine~davidcarradine]]), a half-man/half-machine who has been built to be the best racer on Earth and can outrun and outkill anyone on the circuit. However, not everyone likes the Death Race, and revolutionary leader Thomasina Paine ([[Performer~P48178~Harriet Medin~harrietmedin]]) wants to sabotage the event in the name of restoring democracy; her plan is to foil Frankenstein's expected victory by smuggling her daughter Annie ([[Performer~P28781~Simone Griffeth~simonegriffeth]]) into Frankenstein's race car as his navigator. Featuring [[Performer~P84255~David Carradine~davidcarradine]] at the height of his [[Feature~V27753~Kung Fu~kungfu]] fame (and [[Performer~P112464~Sylvester Stallone~sylvesterstallone]] a year before [[Feature~V41846~Rocky~rocky]]), Death Race 2000 was a major drive-in hit in 1975; [[Performer~P3926~Bartel~paulbartel]] and [[Performer~P84255~Carradine~davidcarradine]] teamed up for another road race movie, [[Feature~V8029~Cannonball~cannonball]], a year later, and a semi-sequel, [[Feature~V12907~Death Sport~deathsport]], appeared in 1978. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Venice International Film Festival Paul Bartel Film Presented 1975 Nominee

Cast

David Carradine
as Frankenstein
Simone Griffeth
as Annie
Sylvester Stallone
as Machine Gun Joe Viterbo
Mary Woronov
as Calamity Jane
Roberta Collins
as Mathilda the Hun
Martin Kove
as Nero the Hero
Louisa Moritz
as Myra
Bill Morey
as Deacon
Fred Grandy
as Herman the German
Paul Laurence
as Special Agent
Harriet Medin
as Thomasina Paine
Joyce Jameson
as Grace Pander
Roger Rook
as Radio Operator
Sandy Ignon
as FBI Agent
William Shephard
as Pete

Crew

Paul Bartel
Director
Roger Corman
Producer
Charles B. Griffith
Screenwriter
Robert Thom
Screenwriter
Tak Fujimoto
Cinematographer
Paul Chihara
Composer (Music Score)
Tina Hirsch
Editor
Robin Royce
Art Director
Jane Ruhm
Costume Designer
Richard MacLean
Special Effects
Advertisement