Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Death at a Funeral Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This nutty British comedy observes with jet-black humor the myriad outrageous calamities that befall an eccentric English clan with more than a few skeletons in its closets when its patriarch dies an unexpected death. Soon, every complication imaginable -- including the wrong corpse in the coffin, the accidental consumption of hallucinogenic drugs, and the disclosure of the deceased's closeted homosexuality -- befall the grief-stricken mourners. The funeral commences at the family estate, with the arrival of younger son Daniel ([[Performer~P326875~Matthew MacFadyen~matthewmacfadyen]]), who has long felt uncomfortable around his cocky, licentious novelist brother, Robert ([[Performer~P28320~Rupert Graves~rupertgraves]]) -- and thus dreads seeing him. Meanwhile, Daniel is also struggling to adhere to promises he's made to his wife ([[Performer~P242434~Keeley Hawes~keeleyhawes]]). Also arriving at the house are cousin Martha ([[Performer~P409652~Daisy Donovan~daisydonovan]]) and her intended, Simon ([[Performer~P223658~Alan Tudyk~alantudyk]]), who embarrasses just about everybody, including himself, by accidentally consuming a strange drug that inflicts him with wild delusions and gives him an uncontrollable penchant for exhibitionism. But the event that truly turns the family members onto their ears is the arrival of a dwarf ([[Performer~P195742~Peter Dinklage~peterdinklage]]) who speaks openly of the patriarch's secret passions, which included dressing up in a kinky gladiator outfit and watching young men skinny-dip. [[Performer~P105306~Frank Oz~frankoz]] ([[Feature~V158538~In & Out~inout]], [[Feature~V180400~Bowfinger~bowfinger]]) helmed the film, while [[Performer~P487548~Dean Craig~deancraig]] authored the script. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:August 17, 2007

Crew

Frank Oz
Director
Laurence Malkin
Producer
Diana Phillips
Producer
Sidney Kimmel
Producer
Share Stallings
Producer
Dean Craig
Screenwriter
Oliver Curtis
Cinematographer
Murray Gold
Composer (Music Score)
Humphrey Dixon
Editor
Beverley Mills
Editor
Michael Howells
Production Designer
Lynne Huitson
Art Director
Alex Lewis
Co-producer
Josh Kesselman
Co-producer
William Horberg
Executive Producer
Andreas Grosch
Executive Producer
Bruce Toll
Executive Producer
Philip Elway
Executive Producer
Natalie Ward
Costume Designer
John Midgley
Sound/Sound Designer
Gail Stevens
Casting
Gareth Milne
Stunts Coordinator
Sue Rowe
Visual Effects Supervisor
Tim Hands
Supervising Sound Editor
Advertisement