Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Dear God Details


In this comedy, a man trying to turn away from a life of crime starts performing a little larceny in the interest of helping others. Tom Turner (Greg Kinnear) is a small-time con man who makes the mistake of trying to cheat a pair of undercover cops one night. Fortunately for Tom, his case is heard by a lenient judge who orders him to get a straight job and stay out of trouble; if he can stay employed for a year, his conviction will be wiped from the record. Tom is hired at the Post Office and assigned to the Dead Letter Office, where he and his co-workers Rebecca (Laurie Metcalf), Herman (Tim Conway), and Vladek (Hector Elizondo) try to figure out what to do with the sacks of mail addressed to Santa Claus, Elvis Presley, and God. Against orders, Tom opens one of the letters to God and is moved by the sad story of the woman who sent it. He decides to reply and accidentally mails her his pay check; but when he sees how happy the answer made the recipient, Tom and his co-workers start opening more letters and trying to answer a few prayers that would be within their reach -- which leads Tom back to the courthouse again. Director Garry Marshall has a small role as Preston Sweeney. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


Greg Kinnear
as Tom Turner
Laurie Metcalf
as Rebecca Frazen
Tim Conway
as Herman Dooly
Maria Pitillo
as Gloria McKinney
Hector Elizondo
as Vladek Vidov
Roscoe Lee Browne
as Idris Abraham
Anna Maria Horsford
as Lucille Barnett
Jack Klugman
as Jemi
Donal Logue
as Webster
David Hasselhoff
as Himself (uncredited)
Toby Huss
as Minister
Kathleen Marshall
as Whispering Wendy
Rue McClanahan
as Mom Turner
Nancy Marchand
as Judge Kits Van Heynigan
Odette Yustman
as Angela
Jon Seda
as Handsome
Larry Miller
as State Judge
Garry Marshall
as Preston Sweeney


Garry Marshall
Steve Tisch
Warren Leight
Ed Kaplan
Jeremy Lubbock
Albert Brenner
Production Designer
Gregory W.M. Bolton
Art Director
Ellen H. Schwartz
Kearie Peak
Karen Stirgwolt
Associate Producer
Angel Pine
Associate Producer
Mario Iscovich
Executive Producer
Ellen H. Schwartz
First Assistant Director
Charles Minsky
Camera Operator
Carrie Frazier
Scott Marshall
Second Unit Director