Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

De-Lovely Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The public and private lives of famed songwriter [[Performer~P106882~Cole Porter~coleporter]] are both explored in this musical drama, in which the aging Porter (played by [[Performer~P38699~Kevin Kline~kevinkline]]) looks back on his life while watching a rehearsal of a stage musical based on his story. As Porter compares notes on the play with director Gabe ([[Performer~P57980~Jonathan Pryce~jonathanpryce]]), he shares thoughts on his rise to fame in the mid-'20s, writing witty and sophisticated tunes for a string of successful Broadway musicals. Porter seemed to be living a charmed life when he met Linda Thomas ([[Performer~P36453~Ashley Judd~ashleyjudd]]), a beautiful American woman who, like Porter, was enjoying a sojourn in Paris following the collapse of her first marriage. Thomas is immediately taken with Porter, whose intelligence and charm is a welcome change after her brutal first husband, and the two discover they share a remarkable understanding of one another. Porter and Thomas marry, even though she's aware that her new husband is gay; Thomas is willing to forgive Porter's indiscretions with other men in favor of the emotional support he brings her. However, as the years wear on and the couple takes up residence in Hollywood as Porter begins writing tunes for motion pictures, Thomas finds Porter drifting away from her as his liaisons become more frequent and more serious. Then tragedy enters their life when Porter loses the use of his legs in a riding accident and Thomas is diagnosed with cancer. De-Lovely features a number of noted pop singers interpreting classic songs from Porter's catalog, including [[Performer~P318908~Diana Krall~dianakrall]], [[Performer~P234845~Sheryl Crow~sherylcrow]], [[Performer~P270229~Alanis Morissette~alanismorissette]], [[Performer~P86023~Elvis Costello~elviscostello]], [[Performer~P319067~Robbie Williams~robbiewilliams]], [[Performer~P95072~Mick Hucknall~mickhucknall]], and others. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 2, 2004

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Kevin Kline Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2004 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ashley Judd Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2004 Nominee

Cast

Kevin Kline
as Cole Porter
Ashley Judd
as Linda Lee Porter
Jonathan Pryce
as Gabe
Kevin McNally
as Gerald Murphy
Alan Corduner
as Monty Woolley
Keith Allen
as Irving Berlin
James Wilby
as Edward Thomas
Kevin McKidd
as Bobby Reed
Richard Dillane
as Bill Wrather
Edward Baker-Duly
as Boris Kochno
Robbie Williams
as Musical Performer
Elvis Costello
as Musical Performer
Alanis Morissette
as Musical Performer
Caroline O'Connor
as Musical Performer
Sheryl Crow
as Musical Performer
Diana Krall
as Musical Performer
Lara Fabian
as Musical Performer
Mario Frangoulis
as Musical Performer
Natalie Cole
as Musical Performer
Gene Shalit
Lemar Obika
Peter Polycarpou
as Louis B. Mayer

Crew

Irwin Winkler
Director
Irwin Winkler
Producer
Charles Winkler
Producer
Rob Cowan
Producer
Jay Cocks
Screenwriter
Tony Pierce-Roberts
Cinematographer
Cole Porter
Featured Music
Stephen Endelman
Musical Arrangement
Julie Monroe
Editor
Tony Gibbs
Editor
Eve Stewart
Production Designer
John Hill
Art Director
Simon Channing-Williams
Executive Producer
Gail Egan
Executive Producer
John Bush
Set Designer
Janty Yates
Costume Designer
Tim Fraser
Sound/Sound Designer
Francesca Jaynes
Choreography
Nina Gold
Casting
Stephen Endelman
Music Producer
Michael Minkler
Re-Recording Mixer
Charles Winkler
Second Unit Director
Sarah Monzani
Makeup
Simon Frame
Visual Effects Supervisor
Gary Chester
Recording
Georgina Lowe
Line Producer
Simon Thompson
Hair Styles
Advertisement