Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Days of Heaven Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P100893~Terrence Malick~terrencemalick]]'s Days of Heaven, the long-awaited follow-up to his 1973 debut [[Feature~V3757~Badlands~badlands]], confirmed his reputation as a visual poet and narrative iconoclast with a story of love and murder told through the jaded voice of a child and expressive images of nature. In 1916, Chicago steelworker Bill ([[Performer~P26545~Richard Gere~richardgere]], stepping in for [[Performer~P71670~John Travolta~johntravolta]]) flees to Texas with his little sister Linda ([[Performer~P45228~Linda Manz~lindamanz]]) and girlfriend Abby ([[Performer~P253~Brooke Adams~brookeadams]]) after fatally erupting at his boss. Along with other itinerant laborers, they work the harvest at a wealthy, ailing farmer's ranch, but the farmer (playwright [[Performer~P111142~Sam Shepard~samshepard]]) falls in love with Abby, and, believing her to be Bill's sister, asks the three to stay on at his elysian spread. Seeing it as his one real chance to escape perpetual poverty, Bill urges Abby to marry the sick man. Marriage, however, has more restorative powers, and the farmer has more magnetism, than Bill had planned. "Nobody's perfect," Linda impassively observes in one of her many voiceovers, after their brief paradise is erased by plagues of locusts, fire, and lethal jealousy. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:June 1, 1979

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Reitz Best Sound 1978 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ennio Morricone Best Original Score 1978 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ennio Morricone Anthony Asquith Award 1979 Winner
National Society of Film Critics Terrence Malick Best Director 1978 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle Terrence Malick Best Director 1978 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Terrence Malick Best Director 1978 Nominee
Cannes Film Festival Terrence Malick Best Director 1979 Winner
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Néstor Almendros Best Cinematography 1978 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Néstor Almendros Best Cinematography 1978 Winner

Cast

Richard Gere
as Bill
Brooke Adams
as Abby
Sam Shepard
as The Farmer
Robert J. Wilke
as Farm Foreman
Stuart Margolin
as Mill Foreman
Jackie Shultis
as Linda's friend
Doug Kershaw
as Fiddler
Frenchie Lemond
as Vaudeville Wrestler
Timothy Scott
as Harvest Hand
Muriel Jolliffe
as Headmistress
Sahbra Markus
as Vaudeville Dancer
Richard Libertini
as Vaudeville Leader

Crew

Terrence Malick
Director
Harold Schneider
Producer
Bert Schneider
Producer
Terrence Malick
Screenwriter
Néstor Almendros
Cinematographer
Haskell Wexler
Cinematographer
Ennio Morricone
Composer (Music Score)
Leo Kottke
Composer (Music Score)
Billy Weber
Editor
Jack Fisk
Art Director
Jacob Brackman
Executive Producer
Robert Gould
Set Decorator
John Reitz
Sound/Sound Designer
Mel Merrells
Special Effects
Skip Cosper
First Assistant Director
John Bailey
Camera Operator
George Ronconi
Sound Mixer
Dianne Crittenden
Casting
Les Kimber
Production Manager
Alan Splet
Assistant Sound Editor
Jacob Brackman
Second Unit Director
Advertisement