Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Dave Chappelle's Block Party Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In September 2004, comedian [[Performer~P12383~Dave Chappelle~davechappelle]] took a break from his immensely successful Comedy Central show to stage a free, unpublicized, all-star hip-hop concert in the Clinton Hill neighborhood of Brooklyn, NY. Inviting fans over the Internet, on the street, and even in his family's hometown of Yellow Springs, OH, [[Performer~P12383~Chappelle~davechappelle]] asked filmmaker [[Performer~P290174~Michel Gondry~michelgondry]] to document the event from its inception on through to the performances themselves. The result is Dave Chappelle's Block Party, a concert film that provides not only a sampling of the music on display that September, but also an intimate look at the comedian himself. [[Performer~P290174~Gondry~michelgondry]]'s cameras tag along with [[Performer~P12383~Chappelle~davechappelle]] as he visits Ohio, recruits a university marching band to play at the show, and surveys the opinions of Clinton Hill on the show that's about to take place. Along the way, we're introduced to some the comedian's favorite acts, in rehearsals and on-stage: [[Performer~P272513~Dead Prez~deadprez]], [[Performer~P427543~Jill Scott~jillscott]], [[Performer~P264009~Mos Def~mosdef]], [[Performer~P307150~the Roots~theroots]], [[Performer~P235394~Erykah Badu~erykahbadu]], [[Performer~P418572~Kanye West~kanyewest]], and the surprise reuniting of [[Performer~P263565~the Fugees~thefugees]]. ~ Michael Hastings, Rovi

  • Release date:March 3, 2006

Crew

Michel Gondry
Director
Dave Chappelle
Producer
Julie Fong
Producer
Mustafa Abuelhija
Producer
Bob Yari
Producer
Ellen Kuras
Cinematographer
Corey Smyth
Musical Direction/Supervision
Sarah Flack
Editor
Jeff Buchanan
Editor
Lauri Faggioni
Production Designer
Peter Zumba
Art Director
Callum Greene
Co-producer
Skot Bright
Executive Producer
Doug Levine
Executive Producer
Doug Torres
First Assistant Director
Bruce MacCallum
Camera Operator
Lance Bangs
Camera Operator
Peter Agliata
Camera Operator
Ernie Jew
Camera Operator
Chris Norr
Camera Operator
Patrick Capone
Camera Operator
Karl Wasserman
Sound Mixer
Jeffrey Livesey
Sound Mixer
Paul Bang
Sound Mixer
Gary Silver
Sound Mixer
Nick Hammond
Sound Mixer
Chris Kellett
Sound Mixer
Mark Roy
Sound Mixer
Brian Miksis
Sound Mixer
Lance Bangs
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Samara Levenstein
Post Production Supervisor
Janice Williams
Production Supervisor
Maus Drechsler
Properties Master
Callum Greene
Unit Production Manager
Francesca Buccellato
Makeup
Valerie Pirson
Title Design
Amy Lynn
Second Assistant Director
Whitney Willard
Production Accountant
James Kirkpatrick
Additional Editing
Anita Gibson
Key Make-up
Jonathan Wales
Re-Recording Mixer
David Van Slyke
Supervising Sound Editor
Gayle Vangrofsky
Location Manager
Advertisement