Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Darling Companion Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

An aging couple find the happiness of their daughter's wedding offset by the emotional distress of losing their beloved dog in this comedy-drama from director [[Performer~P96824~Lawrence Kasdan~lawrencekasdan]]. Beth ([[Performer~P96996~Diane Keaton~dianekeaton]]) and her daughter Grace ([[Performer~P50997~Elizabeth Moss~elizabethmoss]]) are driving down a Denver freeway on a chilly winter day when Beth rescues a lost dog on the side of the road. Naming her new companion "Freeway," Beth forges a strong bond with her new pet while growing increasing frustrated with her husband Joseph ([[Performer~P38699~Kevin Kline~kevinkline]]) -- a self-centered doctor who shows more concern for his patients than he does for his own children. But shortly after Grace's wedding in the Rockies, Freeway runs off during a walk with Joseph. Furious at Joseph and devastated at the loss of losing her loyal pet, Beth recruits remaining wedding guests Penny ([[Performer~P76163~Dianne Wiest~diannewiest]]), Russell ([[Performer~P35464~Richard Jenkins~richardjenkins]]), and Bryan ([[Performer~P425127~Mark Duplass~markduplass]]) -- and enigmatic stranger Carmen ([[Performer~P459668~Ayelet Zurer~ayeletzurer]]) to help bring Freeway home safely. Along the way, Beth finds her crumbling marriage to Joseph put to the ultimate test. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 20, 2012

Cast

Kevin Kline
as Joseph
Diane Keaton
as Beth
Zach Phifer
as Comforting Husband
Zack Phifer
as Comforting Husband
Richard Jenkins
as Russell
Dianne Wiest
as Penny
Sam Shepard
as Sheriff Morris
Elisabeth Moss
as Grace
Mark Duplass
as Bryan
Ayelet Zurer
as Carmen
Lindsay Sloane
as Ellie
Charles Halford
as Christus
Paul Kiernan
as Patient
Yolanda Wood
as Cop
Dina Goldman
as Caterer
Jonathan Kasdan
as Officiant
Anne Cullimore Decker
as Muriel
Anthony Bregman
as Jeff
Tod Huntington
as Deputy Chas
Lorry Houston
as Co-Pilot

Crew

Lawrence Kasdan
Director
Lawrence Kasdan
Producer
Elizabeth Redleaf
Producer
Anthony Bregman
Producer
Lawrence Kasdan
Screenwriter
Meg Kasdan
Screenwriter
Michael McDonough
Cinematographer
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Manish Raval
Musical Direction/Supervision
Carol Littleton
Editor
Dina Goldman
Production Designer
Stefanie Azpiazu
Co-producer
Christine Kunewa Walker
Executive Producer
Meg Kasdan
Executive Producer
Molly Maginnis
Costume Designer
Ronna Kress
Casting
Advertisement