Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Dark City Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Though he had previously appeared in [[Performer~P223775~David Bradley~davidbradley]]'s film adaptation of [[Feature~V126677~Julius Caesar~juliuscaesar]], Dark City marked [[Performer~P94233~Charlton Heston~charltonheston]]'s first role in a major Hollywood production. Danny ([[Performer~P94233~Heston~charltonheston]]) and his pals Augie ([[Performer~P116153~Jack Webb~jackwebb]]), Soldier ([[Performer~P229604~Henry Morgan~harrymorgan]]), and Barney ([[Performer~P5006~Ed Begley Sr.~edbegleysr]]) set up a poker game to take Arthur Winant ([[Performer~P17720~Don DeFore~dondefore]]) for all his money, but after the fact they discover that the money he lost wasn't really his and, in desperation, Arthur killed himself. Arthur's brother Sidney ([[Performer~P46787~Mike Mazurki~mikemazurki]]), a large man not known for his emotional stability, becomes enraged when he learns the facts about Arthur's death, and he vows to kill the men responsible. When his friends start dropping like flies, Danny hides out with his girlfriend, nightclub singer Fran Garland ([[Performer~P64111~Lizabeth Scott~lizabethscott]]), and pays a visit to Arthur's widow Victoria ([[Performer~P99805~Viveca Lindfors~vivecalindfors]]) in hopes of finding out who the killer might be. [[Performer~P116153~Jack Webb~jackwebb]] and [[Performer~P229604~Henry Morgan~harrymorgan]] later reformed after their first appearance together as criminals when they co-starred in the TV show [[Feature~V14672~Dragnet~dragnet[tvseries]]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Charlton Heston
as Danny Haley
Lizabeth Scott
as Fran Garland
Viveca Lindfors
as Victoria Winant
Dean Jagger
as Capt. Garvey
Don DeFore
as Arthur Winant
Jack Webb
as Augie
Walter Sande
as Swede
Mike Mazurki
as Sidney Winant
Stanley Prager
as Sammy
Billy Sheehan
as Gambler
Sally Corner
as Woman
Greta Granstedt
as Margie
Robin Camp
as Boy
Franz Roehn
as Photographer
Ralph Peters
as Proprietor
Dewey Robinson
as Gambler
Otto Waldis
as Benowski
Byron Foulger
as Motel Manager
Mike Mahoney
as Cashier
Walter Burke
as Bartender
Jeffrey Sayre
as Gambler

Crew

William Dieterle
Director
Hal B. Wallis
Producer
Victor Milner
Cinematographer
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Warren Low
Editor
Hans Dreier
Art Director
Franz Bachelin
Art Director
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Emile Kuri
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Wally Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement