Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Dark City Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Alex Proyas (The Crow) directed this noir-styled futuristic thriller, scripted by [[Performer~P107167~Proyas~alexproyas]], Lem Dobbs ([[Feature~V26894~Kafka~kafka]]), and [[Performer~P92240~David S. Goyer~davidsgoyer]] (The Puppet Masters). Separated from his wife Emma ([[Performer~P14510~Jennifer Connelly~jenniferconnelly]]), amnesiac John Murdoch ([[Performer~P64649~Rufus Sewell~rufussewell]]) awakens alone in a strange hotel to learn he is wanted for a series of brutal killings -- but he can't remember if he did or didn't commit these murders. Indeed, most of his memories have completely vanished, and he becomes the focus of interest for both mad genius Dr. Schreber ([[Performer~P69200~Kiefer Sutherland~kiefersutherland]]) and sympathetic detective Frank Bumstead ([[Performer~P34104~William Hurt~williamhurt]]). Attempting to unravel the twisted riddle of his identity, Murdoch encounters a group of ominous beings known as the Strangers, shadow-like figures who have a collective memory and possess the ability to stop time and alter physical reality through a process called The Tuning. Focusing their minds, they are able to change the size and shape of the material world. Murdoch manages to stay a step ahead of his adversaries as he slowly jigsaws together the puzzle of his past-bittersweet memories of his childhood, his love for Emma, and the key to the murders -- while following a labyrinth leading to the Strangers' Underworld, a set inspired by [[Performer~P98675~Fritz Lang~fritzlang]]'s [[Feature~V32362~Metropolis~metropolis]]. [[Performer~P64649~Rufus Sewell~rufussewell]] commented on the Underworld: "When Alex first sent me the sketches for that set, I was more excited than I had been when I read the script. The Underworld was truly remarkable -- a little bit scary, very thrilling, and full of hundreds of bald people." At the Fox Film Studios in Sydney, Australia, where 50 sets were built, three months were spent constructing the set for the Underworld, the largest indoor set ever built in Australia. The production design by [[Performer~P99715~George Liddle~georgeliddle]] (Rapa Nui) and [[Performer~P206176~Patrick Tatopoulos~patricktatopoulos]] ([[Feature~V162465~Godzilla~godzilla]], Space: Above and Beyond) is a composite of different styles and eras, combining the look of 1940s Manhattan with German Expressionism. The music is by [[Performer~P36240~Trevor Jones~trevorjones]] (G.I. Jane). The film's dedication reads: "In Memory of [[Performer~P106930~Dennis Potter~dennispotter]] with gratitude and admiration." ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Cast

Rufus Sewell
as John Murdoch
Kiefer Sutherland
as Dr. Daniel Schreber
Jennifer Connelly
as Emma Murdoch
William Hurt
as Frank Bumstead
Richard O'Brien
as Mr. Hand
Ian Richardson
as Mr. Book
Colin Friels
as Walenski
Mitchell Butel
as Husselbeck
Frank Gallacher
as Stromboli
Bruce Spence
as Mr. Wall
Melissa George
as May
John Bluthal
as Karl Harris

Crew

Alex Proyas
Director
Alex Proyas
Producer
Andrew Mason
Producer
Alex Proyas
Screenwriter
Alex Proyas
Screen Story
Lem Dobbs
Screenwriter
David S. Goyer
Screenwriter
Dariusz Wolski
Cinematographer
Trevor Jones
Composer (Music Score)
Dov Hoenig
Editor
Patrick Tatopoulos
Production Designer
George Liddle
Production Designer
Michelle McGahey
Art Director
Richard Hobbs
Art Director
Michael De Luca
Executive Producer
Brian Witten
Executive Producer
Judith Harvey
Set Designer
Jenny Carseldine
Set Designer
Axel Bartz
Set Designer
Sarah Light
Set Designer
Liz Keogh
Costume Designer
David Lee
Sound/Sound Designer
Steve Andrews
First Assistant Director
Vanessa Pereira
Casting
Shauna Wolifson
Casting
Valerie McCaffrey
Casting
Richard Michalak
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Andrew Mason
Special Effects Supervisor
Arthur Windus
Special Effects Supervisor
Barbara Gibbs
Line Producer
Topher Dow
Second Unit Director
Mara Bryan
Special Effects Supervisor
Glenn Boswell
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement