Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Da Vinci Code Details


Dan Brown's controversial best-selling novel about a powerful secret that's been kept under wraps for thousands of years comes to the screen in this suspense thriller from director Ron Howard. The stately silence of Paris' Louvre museum is broken when one of the gallery's leading curators is found dead on the grounds, with strange symbols carved into his body and left around the spot where he died. Hoping to learn the significance of the symbols, police bring in Sophie Neveu (Audrey Tautou), a gifted cryptographer who is also the victim's granddaughter. Needing help, Sophie calls on Robert Langdon (Tom Hanks), a leading symbologist from the United States. As Sophie and Robert dig deeper into the case, they discover the victim's involvement in the Priory of Sion, a secret society whose members have been privy to forbidden knowledge dating back to the birth of Christianity. In their search, Sophie and Robert happen upon evidence that could lead to the final resting place of the Holy Grail, while members of the priory and an underground Catholic society known as Opus Dei give chase, determined to prevent them from sharing their greatest secrets with the world. Also starring Ian McKellen, Jean Reno, and Alfred Molina, The Da Vinci Code was shot on location in France and the United Kingdom; the Louvre allowed the producers to film at the famous museum, but scenes taking place at Westminster Abbey had to filmed elsewhere when church officials declined permission. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 19, 2006


Awarded by
Satellite Awards Kevin Ahern Best Visual Effects 2006 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Hans Zimmer Best Original Score 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Hans Zimmer Best Original Score 2006 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Hans Zimmer Best Score 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Kevin O'Connell Best Sound 2006 Nominee
Satellite Awards Greg P. Russell Best Sound 2006 Nominee
Art Directors Guild Allan Cameron Best Art Direction in a Contemporary Film 2006 Nominee


Tom Hanks
as Robert Langdon
Audrey Tautou
as Sophie Neveu
Ian McKellen
as Sir Leigh Teabing
Alfred Molina
as Bishop Aringarosa
Jürgen Prochnow
as Vernet
Paul Bettany
as Silas
Jean Reno
as Captain Bezu Fache
Jean-Yves Berteloot
as Remy Jean
Etienne Chicot
as Lieutenant Collet
Jean-Pierre Marielle
as Jacques Saunière
Marie-Francoise Audollent
as Sister Sandrine
Rita Davies
as Elegant Woman at Rosslyn
Francesco Carnelutti
as Prefect
Seth Gabel
as Michael
Denis Podalydès
as Controller
Harry Taylor
as British Police Captain
Clive Carter
as Biggin Hill Police Captain
Garance Mazureck
as Sophie at 13 Years
Daisy Doidge-Hill
as Sophie at 8 Years
Lilli-Ella Kelleher
as Sophie at 3 Years
Crisian Emanuel
as Sophie's Mother
Charlotte Graham
as Mary Magdalene
Xavier De Guillebon
as Junkie
Tonio Descanvelle
as Bank Guard
Serretta Wilson
as American Woman
Eglantine Rembauville
as Student
Dan Tondowski
as Student
Aewia Huillet
as Student
Roland John-Leopoldie
as Student
David Saracino
as DCPJ Agent
Lionel Guy-Bremond
as Officer Ledoux
Yves Aubert
as Louvre Computer Cop
Rachael Black
as Policewoman
Dez Drummond
as London Police
Mark Roper
as London Policeman
Brock Little
as American Embassy Cop
Roland Menou
as DCPJ Technician
Tina Maskell
as Silas' Mother
Peter Pedrero
as Silas' Father
Sam Mancuso
as Pope
Mario Vernazza
as Young Constantine
Agathe Natanson
as Ritual Priestess
Daz Parker
as Peasant Mother
Andrew Robb
as Peasant Father
Maggie McEwan
as Peasant Girl
Michael Bertenshaw
as Priest
Sarah Wildor
as Priestess
David Bertrand
as French Newscaster


Ron Howard
John Calley
Brian Grazer
Akiva Goldsman
Dan Brown
Book Author
Salvatore Totino
Bob Badami
Musical Direction/Supervision
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Hill
Allan Cameron
Production Designer
Tony Reading
Art Director
Jean-Michel Ducourty
Art Director
Giles Masters
Art Director
Louisa Velis
Associate Producer
Kathleen McGill
Associate Producer
Todd Hallowell
Executive Producer
Dan Brown
Executive Producer
Daniel Orlandi
Costume Designer
Richard Roberts
Set Decorator
Kevin O'Connell
Sound/Sound Designer
Daniel Pagan
Sound/Sound Designer
Greg P. Russell
Sound/Sound Designer
Pascal Salafa
First Assistant Director
William M. Connor
First Assistant Director
Martin Tillman
Dee Lewis
John Hubbard
Jane Jenkins
Janet Hirshenson
Ros Hubbard
Sam Breckman
Production Manager
Sam Breckman
Location Manager
Frances Hannon
Frances Hannon
Hair Styles
Jamie Christopher
Second Unit Assistant Director
Robert Komatsu
Associate Editor
Belinda Parrish
Belinda Parrish
Hair Styles
Michael Goosen
Production Controller
Barrie Hemsley
Visual Effects Producer
Kathleen McGill
Unit Production Manager
Nicolas Foulatier
Location Manager
Dan Grace
Costumes Supervisor
Alexandra Weyers
Location Manager
Nathalie Cercuel
Costumes Supervisor
Dominic Tuohy
Special Effects Supervisor
Angus Bickerton
Visual Effects Supervisor
Isabelle Gautier
Location Manager
Luc Drion
Second Unit Camera
Todd Hallowell
Second Unit Director
Jeremy Braben
Aerial Photography
Alex Lamarque
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Nick Glennie-Smith
Laurent Grenaud
Location Manager
Perry Evans
Chief Lighting Technician
Greg Powell
Stunts Coordinator
Eric Catelan
Second Unit Camera
Musical Performer
Norma Webb
Norma Webb
Hair Styles
Toby Hefferman
Second Assistant Director
Pascal Salafa
Unit Production Manager
Hugh Marsh
Musical Performer
Annie Penn
Script Supervisor
Laurent Bregeat
Second Unit Assistant Director
Pacific Title
Title Design
Suzie Wiesmann
Production Supervisor
Olivier Servanin
Location Manager
Annie Baudlet
Production Supervisor
Duncan Muggoch
Location Manager
Piers Dunn
Location Manager
Fraser Taggart
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Sarah Bates
Costumes Supervisor
Paul Gooch
Paul Gooch
Hair Styles
Philippe Hubin
Special Effects Supervisor
Remy Julienne
Stunts Coordinator
Ivan Sharrock
Production Sound Mixer
Yvonne Zarb Cousin
Costumes Supervisor
Kevin Ahern
Visual Effects Editor