Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Cyrano and D'Artagnan Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The oddly featured poet Cyrano De Bergerac([[Performer~P89648~Jose Ferrer~joséferrer]], reprising an Oscar-winning role in [[Performer~P92113~Michael Gordon~michaelgordon]]'s [[Feature~V11893~Cyrano De Bergerac~cyranodebergerac]]), he of the enormous nose, and musketeer D'Artagnan ([[Performer~P11633~Jean-Pierre Cassel~jeanpierrecassel]]) lend a hand to put down a revolution in 17th-century Paris. While they bravely fight for the monarchy, the men dally with two comely courtesans ([[Performer~P39145~Sylva Koscina~sylvakoscina]] and [[Performer~P40852~Daliah Lavi~daliahlavi]]). Though paired off with satisfactory partners, the couples find that a switcheroo might afford them each true love. Director [[Performer~P90961~Abel Gance~abelgance]] and [[Performer~P96741~Nelly Kaplan~nellykaplan]] wrote the screenplay, which united period characters Cyrano, from [[Performer~P314402~Edmond Rostand~edmondrostand]]'s play, and D'Artagnan, from Alexandre Dumas' Three Musketeers, in this romantic swashbuckler. Though French cinema pioneer [[Performer~P90961~Gance~abelgance]] was near the end of his career, [[Performer~P96741~Kaplan~nellykaplan]] was just beginning. She would go on to write, edit and direct several more films. ~ Kristie Hassen, Rovi

Cast

José Ferrer
as Cyrano de Bergerac
Mel Ferrer
Jean-Pierre Cassel
as D'Artagnan
Sylva Koscina
as Ninon
Daliah Lavi
as Marion
Philippe Noiret

Crew

Abel Gance
Director
Nelly Kaplan
Director
Abel Gance
Dialogue Writer
Edmond Rostand
Book Author
Alexandre Dumas
Book Author
Abel Gance
Screenwriter
Otello Martelli
Cinematographer
Raymond Picon-Borel
Cinematographer
Michel Magne
Composer (Music Score)
Nelly Kaplan
Editor
Eraldo Da Roma
Editor
Abel Gance
Editor
Jean Douarinou
Set Decorator
Advertisement