Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Cross Creek Details


Director Martin Ritt's bucolic rural environments of Martin Ritt, Martin Ritt, and Martin Ritt, are re-visited once again in Cross Creek, based on author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings' memoirs of her times on a remote Florida bayou. Mary Steenburgen plays Rawlings, author of The Yearling, who, in 1928, makes the abrupt decision to leave her husband and move to an isolated orange grove to concentrate on her writing. Rawlings buys a run-down house covered with cobwebs that she restores with quick dispatch. In these desolate surroundings, Rawlings pauses in her housecleaning to listen reflectively to the otherworldly noises of the swamp. But suddenly out of this loneliness, people emerge. There is Geechee (Alfre Woodard), Rawlings' devoted servant; Marsh Turner (Rip Torn), a liquor-guzzling swamp rat; Floyd Turner (Cary Guffey), a cute harmonica-playing boy; and Ellie Turner (Dana Hill), a little girl whose fawn becomes the basis of Rawlings' Yearling book. Rawlings becomes involved with Norton Baskin (Peter Coyote), the owner of the local hotel, and, as she settles into life on the bayou and her friendship with Norton and Geechee, she is inspired to begin writing. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:September 21, 1983


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joe Tompkins Best Costume Design 1983 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Leonard Rosenman Best Original Score 1983 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Rip Torn Best Supporting Actor 1983 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alfre Woodard Best Supporting Actress 1983 Nominee


Mary Steenburgen
as Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
Rip Torn
as Marsh Turner
Peter Coyote
as Norton Baskin
Dana Hill
as Ellie Turner
Alfre Woodard
as Geechee
Joanna Miles
as Mrs. Turner
Ike Eisenmann
as Paul
Cary Guffey
as Floyd Turner
Toni Hudson
as Tim's Wife
Bo Rucker
as Leroy
Jay O. Sanders
as Charles Rawlings
Malcolm McDowell
as Max Perkins
Tommy Alford
as Postal Clerk
Keith Michell
as Preston Turner
Tommy Alford
as Postal Clerk


Martin Ritt
Terry Nelson
Dalene Young
John A. Alonzo
Leonard Rosenman
Composer (Music Score)
Sid Levin
Joe Tompkins
Costume Designer