Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Coup de Torchon Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on pulp master [[Performer~P175901~Jim Thompson~jimthompson]]'s Pop. 1280, [[Performer~P113717~Bertrand Tavernier~bertrandtavernier]]'s Coup de Torchon is a sardonic thriller that remains true to its source's spirit, even as it transposes the action from the American South to colonial West Africa. Lucien ([[Performer~P52872~Philippe Noiret~philippenoiret]]) is the bumbling police chief of Bourkasa, a dusty outpost in rural Senegal. Badgered by local thugs, Lucien initially comes across as a pathetic oaf unable to stand up for himself. Things at home are scarcely better, as Lucien finds himself harried by his nagging wife, Huguette ([[Performer~P2809~Stéphane Audran~stéphaneaudran]]), who is carrying on an affair with a man she claims to be her brother ([[Performer~P49661~Eddy Mitchell~eddymitchell]]). Without warning, Lucien embarks on a nonchalant killing spree, murdering everyone who has ever mistreated him. As he sets about "cleaning the slate," Lucien intensifies his affair with ditsy Rose ([[Performer~P34067~Isabelle Huppert~isabellehuppert]]), all the while pining for the newly arrived schoolteacher, Anne ([[Performer~P123695~Irene Skobline~ireneskobline]]). Remaining above suspicion even as bodies pile up, the seemingly witless Lucien gradually develops a twisted logic for his actions, animating his crusade with an evangelical purpose. By movie's end, [[Performer~P113717~Tavernier~bertrandtavernier]] leaves little room for redemption, leaving the joyless Lucien mired in a moral quagmire of his own making. ~ Elbert Ventura, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bertrand Tavernier Best Foreign Language Film 1982 Nominee

Cast

Philippe Noiret
as Lucien Cordier
Isabelle Huppert
as Rose
Jean-Pierre Marielle
as Le Peron
Jean-Pierre Marielle
as Le Peron's brother
Stéphane Audran
as Hughuette Cordier
Eddy Mitchell
as Nono
Guy Marchand
as Chavasson
Irene Skobline
as Anne
Victor Garrivier
as Mercaillou
Jean Champion
as Priest
Gerard Hernandez
as Leonelli
Daniel Langlet
as Paulo
Mamadou Dioume
as Mamadou
Michel Beaune
as Vanderbrouck
Francois Perrot
as Col. Tramichel

Crew

Bertrand Tavernier
Director
Adolphe Viezzi
Producer
Henri Lassa
Producer
Jim Thompson
Book Author
Jean Aurenche
Screenwriter
Bertrand Tavernier
Screenwriter
Pierre-Wiliam Glenn
Cinematographer
Philippe Sarde
Composer (Music Score)
Armand Psenny
Editor
Alexandre Trauner
Production Designer
Jacqueline Laurent
Costume Designer
Jacqueline Moreau
Costume Designer
Michel Desrois
Sound/Sound Designer
Jean Achache
First Assistant Director
Louis Wipf
Production Manager
Advertisement