Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Countdown to Zero Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Conventional wisdom has it that the prospect of nuclear war subsided with the end of the Cold War and the collapse of the Soviet Union, but filmmaker [[Performer~P302891~Lucy Walker~lucywalker]] illustrates how the nuclear threat has only grown in unexpected ways and moved in new directions in this documentary. There are 23,000 nuclear weapons in the world today, a number of which are unaccounted for (when the USSR split into a handful of separate states, some of their bombs went missing), and as the technology becomes simpler, several major radical terrorist groups and politically unstable nations are trying to obtain nuclear weapons, a prospect that isn't as unlikely as one would hope. And what would happen if the wrong people got their hands on the bomb -- or if some of the "good" people were to detonate one through error or mistaken judgment? In Countdown to Zero, a number of leading politicians and political analysts -- including [[Performer~P291274~Jimmy Carter~jimmycarter]], [[Performer~P342363~Tony Blair~tonyblair]], Valerie Plame Wilson, [[Performer~P208691~Mikhail Gorbachev~mikhailgorbachev]], and Zbigniew Brzezinski -- discuss the question of nuclear war in the 21st century and what can be done to eliminate the weapons once and for all. Featuring narration by [[Performer~P53946~Gary Oldman~garyoldman]] and music by [[Performer~P302091~Pearl Jam~pearljam]], Countdown to Zero received its world premiere at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 23, 2010

Crew

Lucy Walker
Director
Lawrence Bender
Producer
Lucy Walker
Screenwriter
Robert Chappell
Cinematographer
Nick Higgins
Cinematographer
Peter Golub
Composer (Music Score)
Brad Fuller
Editor
Brian Johnson
Editor
Lisa Remington
Co-producer
Matthew Brown
Executive Producer
Jeff Skoll
Executive Producer
Diane Weyermann
Executive Producer
Advertisement

Other movies like this