Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Cotton Club Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Combining electric song and dance performances with drama (both on and off screen), [[Performer~P85868~Francis Ford Coppola~francisfordcoppola]]'s The Cotton Club (1984) looks back to the 1920s-1930s peak of the legendary Harlem nightclub where only blacks performed and only whites could sit in the audience. Mixing historical figures with characters loosely based on actual people, Coppola and co-writers [[Performer~P97192~William Kennedy~williamkennedy]] and [[Feature~V20076~The Godfather~thegodfather]]'s [[Performer~P107248~Mario Puzo~mariopuzo]] create a panorama of love, crime, and entertainment centered on the Club. Among them are cornet player Dixie Dwyer ([[Performer~P26545~Richard Gere~richardgere]], playing his own solos), who escapes psycho gangster "benefactor" Dutch Schultz ([[Performer~P59554~James Remar~jamesremar]]) for a [[Performer~P58473~George Raft~georgeraft]]-type Hollywood career as a gangster film star; Schultz's nubile mistress Vera Cicero ([[Performer~P40350~Diane Lane~dianelane]]), who loves Dixie against her mercenary instincts; Cotton Club Mob owner Owney Madden ([[Performer~P33185~Bob Hoskins~bobhoskins]]) and close associate Frenchy Demarge ([[Performer~P29402~Fred Gwynne~fredgwynne]]); Vincent ([[Performer~P10155~Nicolas Cage~nicolascage]]), Dixie's no-good Mad Dog Coll-esque brother; Club tap star Sandman Williams ([[Performer~P32443~Gregory Hines~gregoryhines]]), who woos ambitious light-skinned Club singer Lila Rose Oliver ([[Performer~P47673~Lonette McKee~lonettemckee]]); and cameos by [[Performer~P14118~Charles "Honi" Coles~charleshonicoles]] and [[Performer~P10087~Cab Calloway~cabcalloway]] impersonator [[Performer~P45804~Larry Marshall~larrymarshall]]. Complementing the period story, Coppola evokes the style of '30s gangster movies and musicals through an array of old-fashioned devices like montages of headlines, songs and shoot-outs. Conceived by producer [[Performer~P89202~Robert Evans~robertevans]] as his crowning achievement and directorial debut, Evans had to hand over the troubled production to Coppola, but the budget spiraled out of control as the script was repeatedly re-written throughout the chaotic shoot. By the time it was released, The Cotton Club's epic production story of power struggles, financial bloat, and even a murder overshadowed the "reunion" of [[Feature~V20076~The Godfather~thegodfather]]'s creative team. Neither a [[Feature~V21985~Heaven's Gate~heavensgate]]-sized failure nor a wallet-saving hit like Coppola's [[Feature~V2675~Apocalypse Now~apocalypsenow]], The Cotton Club got some favorable critical notices (although it drew fire for subordinating the African American stories). It did not, however, find a large enough audience to justify its expense and controversy, becoming another mark against 1970s "auteur" cinema in increasingly blockbuster-driven 1980s Hollywood. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Barry Malkin Best Editing 1984 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Sylbert Best Art Direction 1984 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Francis Ford Coppola Best Director 1984 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Q. Lovett Best Editing 1984 Nominee

Cast

Richard Gere
as Dixie Dwyer
Gregory Hines
as Sandman Williams
Diane Lane
as Vera Cicero
Lonette McKee
as Lila Rose Oliver
Bob Hoskins
as Owney Madden
James Remar
as Dutch Schultz
Nicolas Cage
as Vincent Dwyer
Allen Garfield
as Abbadabba Berman
Fred Gwynne
as Frenchy Demange
Lisa Jane Persky
as Frances Flegenheimer
Novella Nelson
as Madame St. Clair
Tom Waits
as Irving Stark
Wynonna Smith
as Winnie Williams
Woody Strode
as Holmes
Jennifer Grey
as Patsy Dwyer
Giancarlo Esposito
as Bumpy Hood
Gwen Verdon
as Mrs. Tish Dwyer
Zane Mark
as Duke Ellington
Diane Venora
as Gloria Swanson
Jacquelyn Bird
as Dancer
Joe Lynn
as Marcial Flores
Leonard Termo
as Danny
Marc Coppola
as Ted Husing
Randle Mell
as Policeman #2
Rony Clanton
as Caspar Holstein
Rosalind Harris
as Fanny Brice
Sandra Beall
as Myrtle Fay
Sarita Allen
as Dancer
Sonia Hensley
as Dancer
Steve Vignari
as Trigger, Mike Coppola
Susan Mechsner
as Gypsie
Thelma Carpenter
as Norma Williams
Tom Signorelli
as Butch Murdock
Tracey Bass
as Dancer
Tucker Smallwood
as Kid Griffin
Vincent Jerosa
as James Cagney
Wendy Edmead
as Dancer
Bill Cobbs
as Bib Joe Ison
James Russo
as Vince Hood
Laurence Fishburne
as Bumpy Rhodes
Mario Van Peebles
as Dancer
Joe Dallesandro
as Charles "Lucky" Luciano
Robert Earl Jones
as Stage Door Joe
Bill Graham
as J.W.
Paul Herman
as Policeman #1
Kim Chan
as Ling
John Ryan
as Joe Flynn
Ron Karabatsos
as Mike Best
Nicholas J. Giangiulio
as Screen Test Thug
Brian Tarantina
as Vince Hood
Bruce Howard
as Bumpy Hood
Bruce MacVittie
as Vince Hood
Carla Earle
as Dancer
Damien Leake
as Bub Jewett
Dayton Allen
as Solly
Ed O'Ross
as Monk
Ed Rowan
as Messiah
Ed Zang
as Clerk
George Cantero
as Vince Hood
Glenn Withrow
as Ed Popke

Crew

Francis Ford Coppola
Director
Robert Evans
Producer
Mario Puzo
Screen Story
Mario Puzo
Screenwriter
Francis Ford Coppola
Screenwriter
Stephen Goldblatt
Cinematographer
John Barry
Composer (Music Score)
Barry Malkin
Editor
Robert Q. Lovett
Editor
Richard Sylbert
Production Designer
David Chapman
Art Director
Gregory W.M. Bolton
Art Director
Fred Roos
Co-producer
Sylvio Tabet
Co-producer
Melissa Prophet
Associate Producer
Dyson Lovell
Executive Producer
Milena Canonero
Costume Designer
Judianna Makovsky
Costume Designer
Michael Stone
Camera Operator
Gregory Hines
Choreography
Arthur Mitchell
Choreography
Michael Meacham
Choreography
Michael Smuin
Choreography
Gretchen Rennell
Casting
Elizabeth Shelton
Assistant Costume Designer
Richard Shissler
Assistant Costume Designer
Barrie M. Osborne
Line Producer
Advertisement