Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Conviction Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

As children, Betty Anne Waters ([[Performer~P167442~Hilary Swank~hilaryswank]]) and her brother, Kenny ([[Performer~P60946~Sam Rockwell~samrockwell]]), survived bad parenting and poverty by leaning on each other for support. Kenny grows up to be something of a troublemaker, eventually being convicted for a murder he swears he didn't commit. His sister believes him and, without even a high-school diploma, sets about going to law school in order to figure out a way to free him. She gets a GED, then graduates law school with the help of her only friend ([[Performer~P199950~Minnie Driver~minniedriver]]). She eventually gets the attention of [[Performer~P65865~O.J. Simpson~ojsimpson]] defense attorney [[Performer~P430645~Barry Scheck~barryscheck]] ([[Performer~P25621~Peter Gallagher~petergallagher]]), who runs an organization devoted to overturning wrongful convictions by analyzing DNA evidence with tests that were unavailable at the time the cases were tried. When he agrees to help her -- if she can find the old blood evidence -- Betty plows her way through the legal complications that stand between her brother and his freedom. [[Performer~P27518~Tony Goldwyn~tonygoldwyn]] directs this drama inspired by a true story. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:October 15, 2010

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Screen Actors Guild Hilary Swank Best Actress 2010 Nominee

Cast

Hilary Swank
as Betty Anne Waters
Sam Rockwell
as Kenny Waters
Minnie Driver
as Abra Rice
Melissa Leo
as Nancy Taylor
Peter Gallagher
as Barry Scheck
Ari Graynor
as Mandy Marsh
Loren Dean
as Rick
Conor Donovan
as Richard
Owen Campbell
as Ben
Bailee Madison
as Young Betty Anne
Clea Duvall
as Brenda Marsh
Karen Young
as Elizabeth Waters
Talia Balsam
as Prosecuting Attorney
John Pyper-Ferguson
as Aidan
Juliette Lewis
as Roseanna Perry
Thomas Mahard
as Law Professor
Laurie Brown
as Law Professor 2
Rusty Mewha
as Desk Sergeant
Marc Macaulay
as Officer Boisseau
Scott Philyaw
as Cop
Tobiasz Daszkiewicz
as Guy in Bar
John Lepard
as Minister
Jake Andolina
as State Trooper
Wallace Bridges
as Global Van Lines Witness
Marty Bufalini
as Defense Attorney
Sarab Kamoo
as Blood Expert
Annabel Armour
as Social Service Woman
Gordon Michaels
as Lt. Daniels
Jane Alderman
as Mrs. Halloran
Gary Davis
as Prison Guard 2
Rick LeFevour
as Prison Guard 3
Linda Boston
as Release Judge
Peter Carey
as Reporter 3
Melissa Bickerton
as Admissions Counselor

Crew

Tony Goldwyn
Director
Tony Goldwyn
Producer
Andrew Sugerman
Producer
Andrew S. Karsch
Producer
Pamela Gray
Screenwriter
Adriano Goldman
Cinematographer
Liz Gallacher
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jay Cassidy
Editor
Mark Ricker
Production Designer
Stephanie Gilliam
Art Director
Ed Cathell III
Co-producer
Alwyn Hight Kushner
Executive Producer
Hilary Swank
Executive Producer
Wendy Chuck
Costume Designer
Kerry Barden
Casting
Paul Schnee
Casting
Vivian Baker
Makeup Supervisor
David Obermeyer
Production Sound Mixer
Dana Hart
Costumes Supervisor
Sheila Waldron
Script Supervisor
Rick LeFevour
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement