Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Comrades Details


Set in the 1830s, this historical drama stars Robin Soans as George Loveless, a Methodist minister whose flock is a group of working families in Tolpuddle, a small town in the British Southwest. Most of the workers in the community are under the thumb of Frampton (Robert Stephens), a ruthless land owner, and his overseer Clerk (Murray Melvin); Frampton and Clerk demand long hours from their workers and pay meager wages. Convinced that the workers deserve a better shake, Loveless, encouraged by organizer Mr. Pitt (Michael Hordern), forms the Society of Friends, an early labor union, and organizes the men to negotiate with Frampton for better pay. When their salaries are instead cut, Loveless and his men go on strike, which could cripple Frampton financially. However, Frampton is well-connected, and soon both the government and private militias are sent in to break the strike and punish the rebellious laborers. The supporting cast includes James Fox, Freddie Jones, and Vanessa Redgrave. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 15, 1987


Robin Soans
as George Loveless
William Gaminara
as James Loveless
Stephen Bateman
as Old Tom Stanfield
Philip Davis
as Young Stanfield
Jeremy Flynn
as Brine
Keith Allen
as James Hammett
Alex Norton
as Lanternist
Michael Clark
as Sailor
Arthur Dignam
as Fop
James Fox
as Norfolk
Michael Hordern
as Mr. Pitt
Freddie Jones
as Vicar
Vanessa Redgrave
as Mrs. Carlyle
Robert Stephens
as Frampton
Imelda Staunton
as Betsy Loveless
Patrick Field
as John Hammett
Malcolm Terris
as Gentleman Farmer
John Hargreaves
as Convict
Alex McCrindle
as Jailor
Sandra Voe
as Diana Stanfield
Katy Behean
as Sarah Loveless
Dave Atkins
as Mr. Frampton's Foreman
Murray Melvin
as Clerk
Lynette Curran
as Prostitute
Valerie Whittington
as Elvi Stanfield
Barbara Windsor
as Mrs. Wetham
Joanna David
as Mrs. Frampton
Alex Norton
as Diorama Showman
Alex Norton
as Sgt. Bell


David Hannay
Simon Relph
Gale Tattersall
Mick Audsley
Michael Pickwoad
Production Designer
Derrick Chetwyn
Art Director
Henry Harris
Art Director
Clive Winter
Set Designer
Doreen Watkinson
Costume Designer
Bruce Finlayson
Costume Designer
Elaine Carew