Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Coffee and Cigarettes Details

  • Release Date: Sep 07, 2003
  • Rated: Language
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 36 min.
  • Genres: Urban Comedy, Comedy
  • Director:Jim Jarmusch

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P95892~Jim Jarmusch~jimjarmusch]]'s black-and-white feature Coffee and Cigarettes contains three vignettes originally released as short films along with separate yet somewhat related sketches. As the title suggests, most of the vignettes involve famous people smoking cigarettes and drinking coffee. The first, "Coffee and Cigarettes," is a six-minute short from 1986 starring [[Performer~P214817~Stephen Wright~stephenwright]] and [[Performer~P81377~Roberto Benigni~robertobenigni]]. The 1989 installment, "Memphis Version," stars [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]], [[Performer~P41425~Joie Lee~joielee]], and [[Performer~P41364~Cinqué Lee~cinquélee]]. The award-winning 1993 segment, "Somewhere in California," stars musicians [[Performer~P57341~Iggy Pop~iggypop]] and [[Performer~P115730~Tom Waits~tomwaits]]. The remaining sketches include [[Performer~P215038~Cate Blanchett~cateblanchett]] performing a duel role, a conversation with [[Performer~P103861~Bill Murray~billmurray]] and members of the [[Performer~P369862~Wu-Tang Clan~wutangclan]], and [[Performer~P49914~Alfred Molina~alfredmolina]] and British television actor [[Performer~P134980~Steve Coogan~stevecoogan]] as themselves. In its full-length version form, Coffee and Cigarettes was shown at the 2003 Venice Film Festival. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:September 7, 2003

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Cate Blanchett Best Supporting Actress [Runner-up] 2004 Winner
National Society of Film Critics Cate Blanchett Best Supporting Actress (Runner-up) 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Cate Blanchett Best Supporting Actress 2004 Nominee

Cast

Crew

Jim Jarmusch
Director
Joana Vicente
Producer
Jim Jarmusch
Producer
Jim Jarmusch
Screenwriter
Tom DiCillo
Cinematographer
Robby Müller
Cinematographer
Ellen Kuras
Cinematographer
Jim Jarmusch
Editor
Jay Rabinowitz
Editor
Melody London
Editor
Terry Katz
Editor
Tom Jarmusch
Production Designer
Mark Friedberg
Production Designer
Dan Bishop
Production Designer
Gretchen McGowan
Co-producer
Stacey Smith
Co-producer
Advertisement