Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Cobweb Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P26792~William Gibson~williamgibson]]'s novel The Cobweb was brought to the screen by MGM with an impressive, hand-picked cast. [[Performer~P76135~Richard Widmark~richardwidmark]] plays the head of a posh psychiatric clinic. [[Performer~P76135~Widmark~richardwidmark]]'s wife [[Performer~P28125~Gloria Grahame~gloriagrahame]] jockeys for the honor of selecting new drapes for the hospital's library. One wouldn't think that such a trivial decision would spark so much melodrama; but thanks to those drapes, we are allowed to probe the disturbed psyches of martinet business affairs director [[Performer~P27129~Lillian Gish~lilliangish]], philandering doctor [[Performer~P7830~Charles Boyer~charlesboyer]], lonely activities director [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]], and suicidal patient [[Performer~P37908~John Kerr~johnkerr]]. [[Performer~P99458~Oscar Levant~oscarlevant]], who spent most of his life in and out of "little white rooms", is ideally cast as a neurotic musician, while [[Performer~P77568~Fay Wray~faywray]] has a superb cameo as [[Performer~P7830~Boyer~charlesboyer]]'s long-suffering wife. Cobweb served as the screen debuts for both [[Performer~P37908~John Kerr~johnkerr]] and [[Performer~P68626~Susan Strasberg~susanstrasberg]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Richard Widmark
as Dr. Stewart McIver
Lauren Bacall
as Meg Faversen Rinehart
Charles Boyer
as Dr. Douglas N. Devanal
Gloria Grahame
as Karen McIver
Lillian Gish
as Victoria Inch
John Kerr
as Steven W. Holte
Susan Strasberg
as Sue Brett
Oscar Levant
as Mr. Capp
Tommy Rettig
as Mark
Paul Stewart
as Dr. Otto Wolff
Jarma Lewis
as Lois DeMuth
Adele Jergens
as Miss Cobb
Edgar Stehli
as Mr. Holcomb
Sandy Descher
as Rosemary
Bert Freed
as Abe Irwin
Fay Wray
as Edna Devanal
Oliver Blake
as Curly
Olive Carey
as Mrs. O'Brien
Eve McVeagh
as Shirley
Virginia Christine
as Sally
Jan Arvan
as Mr. Appleton
Ruth Clifford
as Mrs. Jenkins
Myra Marsh
as Miss Gavney
James Westerfield
as James Petlee
Marjorie Bennett
as Sadie
Stuart Holmes
as Mr. Wictz
Dayton Lummis

Crew

Vincente Minnelli
Director
John Houseman
Producer
George Folsey
Cinematographer
Leonard Rosenman
Composer (Music Score)
Harold Kress
Editor
Advertisement