Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

City of Ember Details


director Gil Kenan takes the helm for this children's fantasy about two young heroes who attempt to solve an ancient mystery in time to prevent their underground city from being swallowed by darkness. The City of Ember was built over 200 year ago, deep below the earth, where the destruction of a mass-scale disaster couldn't reach it. Equipped with a massive generator and vast supplies, the people of Ember have thrived happily for generations -- but the city wasn't meant to be lived in forever. The generator is breaking down and the supplies are running out, but two centuries in isolation have robbed the Emberites of their knowledge -- nobody knows how the electric lights work anymore, and nobody understands that there's something beyond the city besides darkness. Nobody, that is, besides Lina (Saoirse Ronan) and Doon (Harry Treadaway), two teenagers who still have the hope that everyone else has lost to ignorance and apathy -- not to mention a sheet of instructions left by the Builders themselves explaining how to leave the city. But the 200-year-old paper is falling apart, and pieces are missing. So with the lights threatening to flicker out for the last time and leave Ember in darkness forever, Lina and Doon set out on an adventure through the streets, sewers, and dark caverns of Ember to put the pieces back together. To solve the mystery, they'll have to get inside the Builders' heads, and avoid the grasp of corrupt Mayor Cole (Bill Murray), who wants to keep Ember the way it is -- no matter what the cost. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:October 10, 2008


Saoirse Ronan
as Lina Mayfleet
Harry Treadaway
as Doon Harrow
Bill Murray
as Mayor Cole
Martin Landau
as Sul
Mary Kay Place
as Mrs. Murdo
Toby Jones
as Barton Snode
Marianne Jean-Baptiste
as Clary
Mackenzie Crook
as Looper
Tim Robbins
as Loris Harrow
David Ryall
as chief builder
Ian McElhinney
as builder 2
B.J. Hogg
as mayor's guard
Lucinda Dryzek
as Lizzie Bisco
Matt Jessup
as Joss
Lara McIvor
as Roner
Miles Thompson
as Smat
Eoin McAndrew
as student
Rachel Morton
as student
Conor MacNeill
as student
Lorraine Hilton
as Miss Thorn
Liam Burke
as Mr. Boaz
Liz Smith
as Granny
Simon Kunz
as Captain Fleery
Frankie McCafferty
as Arbin Swinn
Heathcote Williams
as Sadge Merrall
Maureen Dow
as Mrs. Sample
Becky Stark
as song master
Brid Ni Chionaola
as Seely Schnap
Mark Mulholland
as portrait painter
Valerie O'Connor
as person in line
Ann Queensbury
as Doctor Tower


Gil Kenan
Steven Shareshian
Tom Hanks
Gary Goetzman
Caroline Thompson
Jeanne DuPrau
Book Author
Xavier Pérez Grobet
Andrew Lockington
Composer (Music Score)
Lindsay Fellows
Musical Direction/Supervision
Zach Staenberg
Adam P. Scott
Martin Laing
Production Designer
Jon Billington
Supervising Art Director
James Foster
Art Director
Ashleigh Jeffers
Art Director
Ross Bradshaw
Art Director
Diana Choi Sachs
Executive Producer
John D. Schofield
Executive Producer
Brendan Rankin
Set Designer
Heather Greenlees
Set Designer
Ruth Myers
Costume Designer
Celia Bobak
Set Decorator
Terry Bamber
Production Manager
Richard Hicks
Gail Stevens
Gary Summers
Re-Recording Mixer
John D. Schofield
Unit Production Manager
Vincent Cirelli
Visual Effects Supervisor
Olivier Cauwet
Visual Effects Supervisor
Patrick Clayton
Second Assistant Director