Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

City of Men Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Two lifelong friends raised amidst the turmoil of Rio de Janeiro's notorious Pool Hall Hill attempt to navigate the treacherous maze of adulthood after celebrating their 18th birthdays and becoming caught up in the city's endless cycle of violence in director [[Performer~P548170~Paulo Morelli~paulomorelli]]'s companion piece to the Golden Globe-winning drama [[Feature~V265461~City of God~cityofgod]]. Laranjinha ([[Performer~P488351~Darlan Cunha~darlancunha]]) and Acerola ([[Performer~P319915~Douglas Silva~douglassilva]]) may not be bound by blood, but these childhood friends are closer to one another than most brothers. While their friendship has gone a long way in helping them both to cope with the strife that surrounds them, the hard truth is that they will both have to fend for themselves now that they've entered into adulthood. For Laranjinha, entering this stage in life means finding his long-lost father; for Acerola it means finally taking responsibility for his growing family. Now, as Laranjinha's cousin, quick-tempered local drug lord Madrugadão ([[Performer~P319914~Jonathan Haagensen~jonathanhaagensen]]), finds his power threatened by his former right-hand man Nefasto ([[Performer~P548173~Eduardo BR Piranha~eduardobrpiranha]]), it quickly becomes apparent that a formidable war is brewing in the poverty-stricken shantytown. The brother of Laranjinha's girlfriend, Camila ([[Performer~P548172~Naima Silva~naimasilva]]), looks to be a key component in this battle, threatening to draw a neutral man into a deadly confrontation. Meanwhile, Acerola's wife, Cris ([[Performer~P548171~Camila Monteiro~camilamonteiro]]), is threatening to move to São Paolo so that her family won't be consumed by the violence that has torn apart so many families before. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:February 29, 2008

Cast

Douglas Silva
as Ace
Darlan Cunha
as Wallace
Jonathan Haagensen
as Madrugadão (aka Midnight)
Rodrigo Dos Santos
as Heraldo
Camila Monteiro
as Cris
Naima Silva
as Camila
Luciano Vidigal
as Fiel
Pedro Henrique
as Caju

Crew

Paulo Morelli
Director
Paulo Morelli
Producer
Bel Berlinck
Producer
Andrea Barata Ribeiro
Producer
Fernando Meirelles
Producer
Elena Soarez
Screen Story
Elena Soarez
Screenwriter
Paulo Morelli
Screen Story
Adriano Goldman
Cinematographer
Daniel Rezende
Editor
Rafael Ronconi
Production Designer
Rafael Ronconi
Art Director
Guel Arraes
Associate Producer
Ines Salgado
Costume Designer
Alessandro Laroca
Sound/Sound Designer
Armando Torres Jr.
Sound/Sound Designer
Isabella Teixeira
First Assistant Director
Mariza Figueiredo
Line Producer
Advertisement