Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Citizen Gangster Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The true story of one of Canada's most famous bandits comes to the big screen in this drama from writer and director [[Performer~P697109~Nathan Morlando~nathanmorlando]]. In 1949, Edwin Boyd ([[Performer~P230859~Scott Speedman~scottspeedman]]) was a World War II veteran living in Toronto, struggling to support his wife Doreen ([[Performer~P297916~Kelly Reilly~kellyreilly]]) and their two children by driving a bus and working odd jobs. Boyd dreams of moving to California and trying his luck as an actor, but it becomes increasingly clear this opportunity isn't about to present itself, and his father ([[Performer~P86106~Brian Cox~briancox]]) makes no secret of his disappointment with his son. Frustrated with his lot in life and desperate for money, he robs a bank using a gun he'd brought back from the war, and he discovers he likes the excitement and drama of armed robbery. Boyd eventually pushes his luck with too many heists and ends up in prison, but while behind bars he meets Willie "The Clown" Jackson ([[Performer~P228479~Brendan Fletcher~brendanfletcher]]), Lenny Jackson ([[Performer~P271425~Kevin Durand~kevindurand]]), and Val Kozak ([[Performer~P230348~Joseph Cross~josephcross]]). Together, they hatch a plot to escape from prison, and once on the outside they become the nation's most notorious outlaw gang and are hailed as folk heroes in an uncertain age. Edwin Boyd was based in part on director [[Performer~P697109~Morlando~nathanmorlando]]'s own correspondence with the real-life Edwin Boyd, who died in 2002; the picture was named Best Canadian First Feature Film at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 27, 2012

Cast

Scott Speedman
as Edwin "Eddie" Boyd
Kelly Reilly
as Doreen Boyd
Kevin Durand
as Lenny Jackson
Joseph Cross
as Val Kozak
William Mapother
as Detective Rhys
Brendan Fletcher
as Willy "The Clown" Jackson
Charlotte Sullivan
as Mary Mitchell
Brian Cox
as Glover Boyd
Melanie Scrofano
as Ann Roberts
Joris Jarsky
as War Vet
Daniel Kash
as Al
Marty Adams
as Bank Manager (Robbery 1)
Robert Bockstael
as Bank Manager (Robbery 3, 4)
Marianne McIsaac
as Lorne Greene Receptionist
Steven McCarthy
as Don Jail Reporter

Crew

Steve Cosens
Cinematographer
Max Richter
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Comeau
Editor
Aidan Leroux
Production Designer
Daniel Bekerman
Co-producer
Daniel Iron
Executive Producer
Kirk D'Amico
Executive Producer
Rob Hepburn
Set Decorator
Jane Tattersall
Sound/Sound Designer
Daniel Bekerman
Line Producer
Advertisement