Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Citadel Details


[[Performer~P19618~Robert Donat~robertdonat]] stars as Dr. Andrew Manson in this adaptation of A.J. Cronin's best-selling novel. Manson devotes himself to treating the residents of a poverty-stricken Welsh mining community. Tuberculosis runs rampant in the village, and Manson is determined to help stem its tide and bring good health back to people who desperately need it. Through a series of unforeseen circumstances, Manson eventually leaves the community and begins working out of London, where he looks after wealthy hypochondriacs who don't really need his services but are willing to pay from them. While Manson gains money and prestige, he has turned his back on his friends, his wife ([[Performer~P62246~Rosalind Russell~rosalindrussell]]), and the people who need him most in the process. To give the film a more realistic "English" atmosphere, MGM shot The Citadel at their British studios, although they did import an American director ([[Performer~P115411~King Vidor~kingvidor]]) and leading lady ([[Performer~P62246~Russell~rosalindrussell]]) for the occasion. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ian Dalrymple Best Screenplay 1938 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences King Vidor Best Director 1938 Nominee
National Board of Review Robert Donat Best Acting 1938 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Donat Best Actor 1938 Nominee
National Board of Review Ralph Richardson Best Acting 1938 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Frank Wead Best Screenplay 1938 Nominee


Robert Donat
as Andrew Manson
Rosalind Russell
as Christine Manson
Ralph Richardson
as Dr.Denny
Rex Harrison
as Dr. Lawford
Emlyn Williams
as Owen
Francis L. Sullivan
as Ben Chenkin
Mary Clare
as Mrs. Orlando
Cecil Parker
as Charles Every
Nora Swinburne
as Mrs. Thornton
Felix Aylmer
as Mr. Boon
Joyce Bland
as Nurse Sharp
Percy Parsons
as Mr. Stillman
Basil Gill
as Dr. Page
Penelope Dudley-Ward
as Toppy LeRoy
Edward Chapman
as Joe Morgan
Josephine Wilson
Bernard Miles
as Miner
Leslie Phillips
Eliot Makeham
Kynaston Reeves
as Doctor


King Vidor
Victor Saville
Emlyn Williams
Ian Dalrymple
Frank Wead
Harry Stradling
Louis Levy
Composer (Music Score)
Charles Frend
Alfred Junge
Art Director